Author Topic: Interurbans are trains too  (Read 3390 times)

sd45elect2000

• Crew
  • Respect: +289
Interurbans are trains too
« on: April 12, 2021, 05:18:30 PM »
+12
I've posted this topic on another forum. I was always hesitant to post my models here in the company of so many esteemed model builders but lately I had a request to do so.

My background is railroad, I've been working for actual railroads my entire life. I started when I was about 11 years old at my local trolley museum in East Troy Wisconsin in around 1976. Since then I've served on museum boards, held professional titles in the rail industry and so far had a satisfying career. In the end though, I always return to my roots of midwestern trolleys. I primarily model the Milwaukee road and originally wanted some trolleys as scenery for the prime attraction which is the Milwaukee in 1948.

It is becoming evident that N scale trolley availability is growing and I can realize equipment that was unheard of just a few years ago. I have decided that I will model a larger trolley system within the confines of the 1948 time period around the Milwaukee road.

Enjoy the topic and feel free to post YOUR electrics !! [ Guests cannot view attachments ]

The Electroliner needs little introduction.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2021, 05:25:00 PM by sd45elect2000 »

sd45elect2000

• Crew
Re: Interurbans are trains too
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2021, 05:59:03 PM »
+4
[ Guests cannot view attachments ]

Milwaukee Rapid transit car 66. Cincinnati curveside.

Tomix powered !

https://interurbanmodels.blogspot.com/

Custom decals, scalecoat paint.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2021, 06:53:35 PM by sd45elect2000 »

thomasjmdavis

• Crew
  • Respect: +453
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2021, 06:39:10 PM »
My venture into trolleys are a couple of Bachmann streetcars and a couple of those old unpowered kits that came with a pair of sides and some wood to make North Shore cars, that I have never built.