Author Topic: Grab irons on diesels. Nice detail or headache?  (Read 12727 times)

2-8-8-0

• Crew
  • Respect: 0
Grab irons on diesels. Nice detail or headache?
« on: March 28, 2010, 06:38:16 PM »
Hello folks.

As I wait for my new GP-38 and -9 to come in the mail, as well as my decals, I was debating if there are any other modifications I want to make besides moving the headlight on the -9, and obviously painting and decaling them, and I found some nice sets of grab irons for sale. They add much in the realism department, no doubt, but I would need to remove the molded on details, and then add them, and I am not sure if I want to try that. How difficult is removing the cast on steps on say, a Kato -9 shell? I definately like how they look, but this is my first attempt at doing something like this in N (or any scale, for that matter. My HO -9s had grab irons already!) so I dont want to get in over my head.

Is this a OK project for a beginner, removing the cast on grabs and adding the wire ones? Seems like once you have 1 very detailed loco, now you need to detail them all...(having second thoughts about trying operating ditch lights for the same reason, though these I have done on HO locos)
Just say no to dummy couplers.

Hyperion

• Crew
  • Respect: +19
Re: Grab irons on diesels. Nice detail or headache?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2010, 07:51:49 PM »
If you're buying Undecs and/or plan to repaint the unit anyway, the effort to install grabs is fairly minimal it just requires a steady hand.  Doing it on a unit that's already painted is a fair bit more difficult as removing just the grab iron on a painted unit without causing any damage around the area isn't terribly easy.

Your first unit is probably gonna take a while.  But once you get the hang of drilling the holes it's a quick process.  Most of the guys here can probably do drill all the necessary holes on a unit in 15 minutes.
-Mark

eja

• Crew
  • Respect: +198
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2010, 09:11:57 PM »