Author Topic: Altering brass car sides  (Read 3709 times)

Puddington

• Crew
  • Modelling is the best medicine for what ails me.
  • Respect: +236
    • The Canadian Pacific Railway's Dominion
Altering brass car sides
« on: December 08, 2008, 08:48:33 PM »
I have a question regarding the potential to alter brass car sides. I have a couple of pairs of brass "Cascade" 10-5 sleeper sides. The window configuration is as close to identical as I'll find for Canadain Pacific "Grove" class sleepers but the end flairs and battery boxes need to be removed.

I am just getting started working with brass so does anyone have any wisdom to share on removing said applicances ? There are scores on some of the parts that should make it easier but what tool would one use ? How do I remove the sections under the doors where it is not scored ? How do I "finish" the area cut off ?

Here's the sides...

Any and all assistance greatly appreciated.....I can't afford to screw up $ 25.00 sides...LOL !
Model railroading isn't saving my life, but it's providing me moments of joy not normally associated with my current situation..... Train are good!

Bob Bufkin

• Crew
  • Respect: +42
Re: Altering brass car sides
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2008, 09:25:00 PM »
I've only worked a brass side once.  I used a Tremel motor tool with a disk and carefully removed what I wanted, then use a file to smooth the lines.  Hate working with brass.  Maybe JMLABODA whose on here can give you some other pointers. 

DKS

• The Pitt
  • Crew
  • Your choice for ANAL...
  • Respect: +1974
    • DKS Home
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2008, 10:11:29 PM »
For straight cuts, such as the battery boxes, I would use flush cutters, which look like wire cutters but leave a clean edge on one side (a.k.a. rail cutters or rail nippers). After cutting away the excess material, file the cut edges with a flat jeweler's file or some fine sandpaper on a smooth, hard work surface.