Author Topic: Flatten a photo  (Read 1212 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 16275
  • Respect: +4059
Flatten a photo
« on: November 13, 2021, 06:33:23 AM »
0
Can anyone here flatten (or whatever you call it) this photo so that the body is a perfect rectangle?



I know the body is 20' long, the wheels are 38", WB is 9'6".

Maybe I can whip it up in 3D for N scale  :lol:

DKS

  • The Pitt
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 13258
  • Respect: +6331
    • David's Modeling Journey
Re: Flatten a photo
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2021, 07:26:12 AM »
+3


Don't know if the proportions are correct, but it should be close.

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 16275
  • Respect: +4059
Re: Flatten a photo
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2021, 02:08:42 PM »
0
Perfect, thank you!

According to the date on the photo I tried this back in 2009 (it was just a guess)




https://www.arrts-arrchives.com/ENG403.html

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 26920
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +2880
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Flatten a photo
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2021, 04:43:17 PM »
0
That looks like etching artwork. This time around will you draw it in CAD and 3D-print it?
. . . 42 . . .

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 16275
  • Respect: +4059
Re: Flatten a photo
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2021, 05:13:10 PM »
0
Yes that was me trying to etch it at home.

Here is what I now have:

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 16275
  • Respect: +4059
Re: Flatten a photo
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2021, 05:41:37 PM »
0
One thing not calculating out. Height from rail to top of radiators 14' 11".

The line on the upper left would be 14' 11" from the rail.

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 16275
  • Respect: +4059
Re: Flatten a photo
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2021, 07:06:29 PM »
+1
Stretched out the roof details to make up for prospective


What I do is then take this CAD line drawing and import it into Sketchup.

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 16275
  • Respect: +4059
Re: Flatten a photo
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2021, 07:12:01 PM »
0
I once said that in the future you will be able to enter photos into a program and have it spit out a 3D file. This is what I mean. A program that can figure out the prospective using 10-15 photos of an object and figure out it's mass.  :P

pjm20

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1010
  • Gender: Male
  • Modeling the Bellefonte Central
  • Respect: +91
    • My Youtube Channel
Re: Flatten a photo
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2021, 08:33:22 PM »
0
What mechanism do you have in mind for the A6?
Modeling the Bellefonte Central Railroad circa 1953
PRRT&HS #8862
Garden Railroad Enthusiast

Check out my Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/PennsyModeler

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 26920
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +2880
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Flatten a photo
« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2021, 10:21:50 PM »
0
I once said that in the future you will be able to enter photos into a program and have it spit out a 3D file. This is what I mean. A program that can figure out the prospective using 10-15 photos of an object and figure out it's mass.  :P

Actually, several years ago I seem to recall that I think Microsoft had some sort of application that could take a series of (plain) 2D photos taken around some object to come up with a 3D rendition of it.  I believe they were going to use it for rendering structures in Bing Maps.

Also in dentistry there is a machine to produce crowns using a series of 2D photos of the tooth to create a 3D crown. My dentist used it for one of my crowns, but when I asked him about it recently, he was not happy with the results, so he doesn't use that machine right now.  Unlike the stationary 3D scanners that are used for scanning large objects (like Rapido used for producing some of their models), the dental version is a handheld wand camera, and the stitching of the photos is not 100% accurate.
. . . 42 . . .

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 16275
  • Respect: +4059
Re: Flatten a photo
« Reply #10 on: November 14, 2021, 06:27:56 AM »
+1
What mechanism do you have in mind for the A6?

I could use this chassis parts and make a new 3D block to lengthen the WB
https://tomamw.miiduu.com/6151-nhoe009-dia60wb12mm-super-slow-drinve-unit-oso-power-0612-rtr-1

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 16275
  • Respect: +4059
Re: Flatten a photo
« Reply #11 on: November 14, 2021, 06:40:21 AM »
0
I'm running into the same problem I had when making a railbus with a bunch of rivets. Sketchup want to slow way down and keeps saying "not responding". And I'm barely even started yet, the drawing will get way more complicated.

Lemosteam

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 4891
  • Gender: Male
  • PRR, The Standard Railroad of my World
  • Respect: +1863
    • Designer at Keystone Details
Re: Flatten a photo
« Reply #12 on: November 14, 2021, 01:22:51 PM »
0
MUST. HAVE.

GaryHinshaw

  • Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 5990
  • Respect: +1459
Re: Flatten a photo
« Reply #13 on: November 14, 2021, 02:15:24 PM »
0
Cool project.

I'm running into the same problem I had when making a railbus with a bunch of rivets. Sketchup want to slow way down and keeps saying "not responding". And I'm barely even started yet, the drawing will get way more complicated.

Not sure about Sketchup, but in TinkerCAD, when I have a part with lots of little repeating elements in it (like a roof walk with a repeating hole pattern), I group all of the holes into one single shape when I incorporate it into the model.  The program slows way down if I don't, but it's plenty fast when they're grouped.  (It seems to scale with how many independent shapes are in the main model.)  Can you group rivet lines or sections into one shape in Sketchup?  It might help.

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 16275
  • Respect: +4059
Re: Flatten a photo
« Reply #14 on: November 14, 2021, 02:41:58 PM »
0
I could group all the rivets, but it would take all day to select them all. And so far they are only circles, they haven't been pulled yet. The whole model is still in 2D and everything I due slows down and "not responding".

My computer graphics card says it is only using around 10%.