Author Topic: Shapeways print length ultimatum (yeah you told me so Bryan :-))  (Read 2627 times)

Lemosteam

• Crew
  • PRR, The Standard Railroad of my World
  • Respect: +1285
    • Designer at Keystone Details
All scales WRT printing at shapeways...

:x :x :x :x 

Disappointing.  Below is the full text and image from a Shapeways forum topic I just started.  Many of you know I have been addressing this with them for almost two years...

I am not sure what I will now do about my roof offerings or the Stillwell kit.

Fellow shop-owners,

For those designers that have models longer than 100mm offered in FUD or FED, or Fine Detail Plastics, Shapeways representatives at all management levels have sternly and recently informed me that they will not honor their stated, published accuracy capability on that materials’ page:

“ACCURACY

±0.1- 0.2 mm for every 100 mm”

As an example, if one dimension in the design is 151.38mm the part should be printed within the calculated proportional range (i.e. the ±0.1 - 0.2 mm) would become ±0.1514 – 0.3028 when proportioned from 100mm to 151.38mm.

When printed, the same measurement on the part in this example should measure between (at WORST CASE, which I have always accepted) 151.0772 (151.38-0.3028) and 151.6828 (151.38+0.3028). In this actual example, the actual part measured 150mm- over 1mm too short for its intended purpose rendering the print useless.

Sounds logical right?

This is somehow not logical to the Shapeways’ production and Customer Service team. They claim this published accuracy is a guideline, but most of us realize that when a tolerance is mentioned, it becomes more of an expectation or allowance. They vehemently disagree with this to the point they will not reprint until the part is correct, but they will only reprint once, maybe correct, maybe not, then refund.