Author Topic: Just plain DC pack talk  (Read 640 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

OldEastRR

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2881
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +183
Just plain DC pack talk
« on: March 30, 2021, 01:32:40 AM »
0
I'm always wondering why the internet never really has anything much about information -- I guess because it's whole reason for existence is to sell you things and to let people rant about whatever BS they're crazed over. Oh, and the favoritist shows to watch.

On the old Star Trek, Capt Kirk could ask the computer anything -- about people, history, science, geneology, medicine, sports data -- and get an answer. Ask for info on the internet and you get a flood of babbling Youtubes and lots and lots of stuff for sale.

Thus I must fall back on TRW for answers to simple questions like "Can I use a 12vDC, 1.25 Amp HO power pack to run N scale DC?"  Because god forbid that info be generally available on the web.

Point353

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2896
  • Respect: +559
Re: Just plain DC pack talk
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2021, 01:48:13 AM »
0
Thus I must fall back on TRW for answers to simple questions like "Can I use a 12vDC, 1.25 Amp HO power pack to run N scale DC?" 
What is the make and model of the "12vDC, 1.25 Amp HO power pack" in question?

Will you be using it to power DC-only locos or those equipped with dual-mode decoders?

nkalanaga

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 7770
  • Respect: +443
Re: Just plain DC pack talk
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2021, 01:57:52 AM »
0
Short answer:  Yes, definitely.  12V DC is the same regardless of scale.

Longer answer:  If it's an old "diode and rheostat" pack, it may not work well with today's low-current motors.  If it's a newer "basic electronics" transistor pack (1970s on), or a "variable transformer" pack (high-end 1950s on), it should work equally well regardless of scale, as long as it provides enough current for the motor.
N Kalanaga
Be well

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 25629
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +2679
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Just plain DC pack talk
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2021, 01:58:50 AM »
+1
I'm always wondering why the internet never really has anything much about information -- I guess because it's whole reason for existence is to sell you things and to let people rant about whatever BS they're crazed over. Oh, and the favoritist shows to watch.

On the old Star Trek, Capt Kirk could ask the computer anything -- about people, history, science, geneology, medicine, sports data -- and get an answer. Ask for info on the internet and you get a flood of babbling Youtubes and lots and lots of stuff for sale.

Al, you are using wrong interface to the Internet.  Remember the computer on Star Trek TOS?   You would ask it in spoken English, and (after uttering the phrase "working"), it responded in a cold female voice.

The future is now.  All you need is amazon "Alexa" to connect you with the internet.  Then just like Capt. Kirk, you can ask your computer any question, using spoken language, and it will answer using female voice.  It will not flood you with useless babble of the Interwebs.  But the price to pay is that it learns all sorts of stuff about you and sells that information to the interested companies.  But it is just like the Star Trek computer you are longing for. Livin' the dream!  :D
. . . 42 . . .

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 15570
  • Respect: +3625
Re: Just plain DC pack talk
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2021, 02:18:01 AM »
+2
My internet has a keyboard so I can type input.

Point353

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2896
  • Respect: +559
Re: Just plain DC pack talk
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2021, 03:09:06 AM »
0
So, is this thread about an actual question regarding DC power packs or is it just a rant about trying to find answers on the 'net?

Mark5

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 10273
  • Always with the negative waves Moriarty ...
  • Respect: +354
Re: Just plain DC pack talk
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2021, 08:22:25 AM »
0
The future is now.  All you need is amazon "Alexa" to connect you with the internet.

Haha! Alexa has been banned in my household!  :D

My 1970s MRC Throttlepack 500N won't run today's locos very well ... unless you like jack-rabbit NHRA style starts.   ;) (hell, it didn't even run 1970s locos very well)
« Last Edit: March 30, 2021, 08:24:48 AM by Mark5 »

Steveruger45

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1488
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +442
Re: Just plain DC pack talk
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2021, 09:05:54 AM »
0
I still have three MRC 1500 power packs dating from the late 80”s.  They run pure DC HO and N scale locos just fine.
I have one set up on my N scale DC loco test oval, one for my Grandsons HO kato unitrack set and the other one I use a a DC power supply for scenic effects on my DCC layout.

Like these
https://www.toysperiod.com/mrc-tech-2-locomotion-1500-scale-model-train-power-pack-dc-p-980.html
« Last Edit: March 30, 2021, 01:24:34 PM by Steveruger45 »
Steve
Atascocita, Texas

CRL

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1852
  • Needs More Dirt.
  • Respect: +441
Re: Just plain DC pack talk
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2021, 12:45:09 PM »
0
Didn’t I see some kind of warning about the basic MRC 1500 (or 1400) to not use them to run any DCC decoder equipped locos on their DC mode?

Mark5

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 10273
  • Always with the negative waves Moriarty ...
  • Respect: +354
Re: Just plain DC pack talk
« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2021, 12:48:01 PM »
0
Didn’t I see some kind of warning about the basic MRC 1500 (or 1400) to not use them to run any DCC decoder equipped locos on their DC mode?

I believe that was the MRC RailPower 1300 series

https://rapidotrains.com/warranty

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 25629
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +2679
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Just plain DC pack talk
« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2021, 05:09:15 PM »
0
I believe that was the MRC RailPower 1300 series

https://rapidotrains.com/warranty

And only Rapidotrains (and ESU decoders in their models) seem to be affected.  No other decoder manutacturers (including ESU) have raised any flags about this problem.  It is quite puzzling.

I still have three MRC 1500 power packs dating from the late 80”s.  They run pure DC HO and N scale locos just fine.
I have one set up on my N scale DC loco test oval, one for my Grandsons HO kato unitrack set and the other one I use a a DC power supply for scenic effects on my DCC layout.

Like these
https://www.toysperiod.com/mrc-tech-2-locomotion-1500-scale-model-train-power-pack-dc-p-980.html

Is it really "pure DC"?  Have you hooked an oscilloscope to verify that, or is that just MRC's marketing slogan?  To me "pure DC" would be filtered, rectified DC voltage (few millivolts of ripple would be acceptable).
. . . 42 . . .

Steveruger45

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1488
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +442
Re: Just plain DC pack talk
« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2021, 06:35:41 PM »
0
And only Rapidotrains (and ESU decoders in their models) seem to be affected.  No other decoder manutacturers (including ESU) have raised any flags about this problem.  It is quite puzzling.

Is it really "pure DC"?  Have you hooked an oscilloscope to verify that, or is that just MRC's marketing slogan?  To me "pure DC" would be filtered, rectified DC voltage (few millivolts of ripple would be acceptable).

I’m not talking about the dc voltage output characteristics of the MRC1500 at all Pete.
The reference is to “pure” dc locomotives, that is, one that does not have a DCC decoder in it.
I thought that was clear in the post, but am happy to clarify.
Steve
Atascocita, Texas

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 25629
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +2679
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Just plain DC pack talk
« Reply #12 on: March 30, 2021, 07:07:51 PM »
0
I’m not talking about the dc voltage output characteristics of the MRC1500 at all Pete.
The reference is to “pure” dc locomotives, that is, one that does not have a DCC decoder in it.
I thought that was clear in the post, but am happy to clarify.

It was probably me (and my Polish brain) not accurately interpreting your post.  Clear now. Thanks!
. . . 42 . . .

learmoia

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2902
  • Respect: +472
Re: Just plain DC pack talk
« Reply #13 on: March 30, 2021, 10:04:07 PM »
0

Not sure how we've gotten so far in this thread without this video coming up.
“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” ~Homer Simpson

jagged ben

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2578
  • Respect: +254
Re: Just plain DC pack talk
« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2021, 01:41:02 AM »
0
15-25 years ago it was possible to search the internet for something and easily find good answers to questions.  Since then it's been largely ruined, mostly I think by 'Search Engine Optimization', which means money trumping merit in search engine results. 

Anyway, yes, you can use pretty much any 12V model railroad power pack to run N scale.  Certainly an HO scale one.  The dangers of using one meant for larger scales might be that it can deliver enough current to easily melt your N scale loco if you short across the rails.  Conversely, one meant for N scale might not deliver enough power to run a G scale loco.  But between N and HO not enough difference to matter in most cases.