Author Topic: Digitrax DZ126T lighting question  (Read 245 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

GhengisKong

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 311
  • Respect: +57
Digitrax DZ126T lighting question
« on: January 05, 2019, 03:03:23 PM »
0
I am trying to see if it is possible on a DZ126T to be able to take the reverse light function and transfer it to another function button. I bought Alvin's (wuttermelon) Rock Island frog lights and and currently have them wired to blue and yellow, but want to be able to turn them on and off independently of the headlight. I played with CV50 and 61, but to no avail, they still operate on the reverse or not at all, depending on value. Am I SOL?

woodone

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 333
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +13
Re: Digitrax DZ126T lighting question
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2019, 05:15:41 PM »
0
I am trying to see if it is possible on a DZ126T to be able to take the reverse light function and transfer it to another function button. I bought Alvin's (wuttermelon) Rock Island frog lights and and currently have them wired to blue and yellow, but want to be able to turn them on and off independently of the headlight. I played with CV50 and 61, but to no avail, they still operate on the reverse or not at all, depending on value. Am I SOL?
I am afraid you are SOL.  this decoder only has two functions , so you don’t have a different function button to remap to. You can change the lighting affect but that’s it.  At least that is what I see in the manual.

tehachapifan

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1670
  • Respect: +290
Re: Digitrax DZ126T lighting question
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2019, 05:31:10 PM »
0
If you're not already aware, Digitrax has a nifty CV calculator as seen here...

http://www.digitrax.com/support/cv/calculators/

I would imagine you could remap the functions in this decoder no problem, but I don't know for sure as I don't have that particular decoder.

What is it exactly that you want to do?
« Last Edit: January 05, 2019, 05:41:36 PM by tehachapifan »
Russ

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 19485
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +1616
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Digitrax DZ126T lighting question
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2019, 09:38:26 PM »
0
Even thought it is a 2-function decoder, F0F and F0R are separate functions which should be remappable to the other Function buttons on the throttle. Believe the microcontroller chip they are using on that decoder runs the same firmware as their other 5th generation decoders, so remapping (using the Digitrax online calculator) should still work.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2019, 04:30:20 PM by peteski »
--- Peteski de Snarkski
--- Honorary Resident Curmudgeon

woodone

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 333
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +13
Re: Digitrax DZ126T lighting question
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2019, 08:05:39 AM »
0
Looking at the function mapping, you are saying to reset CV 33 to zero, and then use CV 35-F1, CV36-F2 or CV 37-F3
and put in a value of 2 into the F function you want to control the yellow output wire.
Got DZ 126 on the shelf- give it a try latter today. Mean while I guess the OP could give it a go.
That’s a NEET CHART , BTW.

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 19485
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +1616
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Digitrax DZ126T lighting question
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2019, 04:31:06 PM »
0
Yes, that is my speculation (but I haven't tried it myself).  If you do try, let us know it if works.
--- Peteski de Snarkski
--- Honorary Resident Curmudgeon

woodone

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 333
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +13
Re: Digitrax DZ126T lighting question
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2019, 04:39:55 PM »
0
OK, just tested a DZ 126. I changed CV 34 to a value of zero-then changed CV35 to value of 2.
That made the yellow wire to turn off-on with  F 1 . Changed CV 36 & 37 to a value of 2 and each one turned the yellow off/on. I then tried to get F 4 remapped. I changed the value in CV 38 (F4 ) but it did not make the yellow wire come on/off.

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 19485
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +1616
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Digitrax DZ126T lighting question
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2019, 04:49:05 PM »
0
OK, just tested a DZ 126. I changed CV 34 to a value of zero-then changed CV35 to value of 2.
That made the yellow wire to turn off-on with  F 1 . Changed CV 36 & 37 to a value of 2 and each one turned the yellow off/on. I then tried to get F 4 remapped. I changed the value in CV 38 (F4 ) but it did not make the yellow wire come on/off.

So it works as expected, but due to the limitation of the Digitrax (or maybe even standard DCC mapping?), You can't map any function output to any throttle Function.  If you open up that Digitrax calculator (link provided in an earlier post), and open up the CV33-46 Function Mapping section, you will see that what you trying to do is unsupported (on any Digitrax decoder). It falls within in the red areas.
--- Peteski de Snarkski
--- Honorary Resident Curmudgeon

woodone

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 333
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +13
Re: Digitrax DZ126T lighting question
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2019, 06:26:25 PM »
0
Yes, I saw that in the CV calculator.   Just conformation.

GhengisKong

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 311
  • Respect: +57
Re: Digitrax DZ126T lighting question
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2019, 07:23:04 PM »
0
I ended up using the calculator last night and was able to assign F0(r) to F1 successfully. Thanks for pointing the CV33-46 calculator out, guys.