Author Topic: Anycubic Photon  (Read 35112 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Lemosteam

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3883
  • Gender: Male
  • PRR, The Standard Railroad of my World
  • Respect: +1181
    • Designer at Keystone Details
Re: Anycubic Photon
« Reply #855 on: May 10, 2019, 06:37:39 AM »
0
Was there an expense in all of this or was the screen warrnted?  Not trying to pry, but i was wondering how much the screen was to replace.

PiperguyUMD

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 238
  • Respect: +88
Re: Anycubic Photon
« Reply #856 on: May 11, 2019, 09:41:21 AM »
0
Found this this morning. I might give this a shot, curious to see what TRW hive-mind thinks.


Lemosteam

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3883
  • Gender: Male
  • PRR, The Standard Railroad of my World
  • Respect: +1181
    • Designer at Keystone Details
Re: Anycubic Photon
« Reply #857 on: May 11, 2019, 10:00:17 AM »
0
^^^ Incredibly BAD idea to do this by hand, with no reliable fixture to set the slide bars parallel, 1; to each other and 2: to the original riser.  This should be done in a machine shop with accurate capabilities.  That guy just added about 10-15% inaccuracy to his printer.  Tell me I'm wrong @narrowminded ?   :facepalm:

PiperguyUMD

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 238
  • Respect: +88
Re: Anycubic Photon
« Reply #858 on: May 11, 2019, 10:07:20 AM »
0
Assuming one has access to a shop to set the sliders parallel, good idea?

AlwaysSolutions

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Respect: +24
Re: Anycubic Photon
« Reply #859 on: May 11, 2019, 04:06:34 PM »
+2
Assuming one has access to a shop to set the sliders parallel, good idea?

If I had any problems with the quality of my prints related to z wobble I would totally do it.  As it is, both of my machines don't have this problem so for me it would be a "ain't broke, don't fix" kind of thing.  So if yours is wobbling, go for it!  Otherwise, don't you dare! lol

Lemosteam

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3883
  • Gender: Male
  • PRR, The Standard Railroad of my World
  • Respect: +1181
    • Designer at Keystone Details
Re: Anycubic Photon
« Reply #860 on: May 13, 2019, 05:57:36 AM »
0
Assuming one has access to a shop to set the sliders parallel, good idea?

Well of course.  I was referring to how the guy was showing how to do it DIY, not whether the mod was good or bad.

Slides like this are very accurate and are used in gauging and fixtures all of the time.  They require very accurate installation or they can cause binding and misalignment as they are not forgiving, especially while in movement.



wcfn100

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 7650
  • Oh, it's an Owl!
  • Respect: +515
    • Chicago Great Western Modeler
Re: Anycubic Photon
« Reply #861 on: May 13, 2019, 12:36:22 PM »
0
"If you pop them out, they're really not hard to put in"

Assuming you can find them once they fall out...  I've repacked hundrends of THK's,  difficulty aside, not a fun job.


Jason

AlwaysSolutions

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Respect: +24
Re: Anycubic Photon
« Reply #862 on: May 18, 2019, 08:23:59 PM »
0
Anybody willing to risk their finely tuned Photon to upgrade firmware to enable anti-aliasing?  Or has anyone done it yet?  "Beta" firmware is available on the Anycubic site: http://www.anycubic3d.com/support/show/594032.html  (click the firmware icon)

I'm on the fence on whether I want to risk it - although, my oldest Photon isn't a performer like my newer (non "S") machine so maybe I can put the risk on that one since I don't use it as much.  Will have to think on this, but I'm excited to see if AA will really do much to improve quality on our prints.

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 13026
  • Respect: +2408
Re: Anycubic Photon
« Reply #863 on: May 18, 2019, 11:02:13 PM »
0
Hey Mark has 2 he can risk it  :P

I haven't printed anything in a while. I knew about the AA, but didn't even know you had to update the machine...

Mark W

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1683
  • Respect: +1314
    • Free-moNebraska
Re: Anycubic Photon
« Reply #864 on: May 19, 2019, 12:55:57 PM »
0
Hey Mark has 2 he can risk it  :P

I haven't printed anything in a while. I knew about the AA, but didn't even know you had to update the machine...

I have yet to see a single comparison showing a notable improvement in with AA enabled.  Of course, none of them have been a well positioned, hi resolution, well lit comparison either. 

I'll wait until the next version, or my 3rd printer. :)
Contact me about custom model building.
Learn more about Free-moNebraska.