Author Topic: Power Districts?  (Read 353 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

daniel_leavitt2000

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 4889
  • Respect: +312
Power Districts?
« on: September 17, 2018, 06:16:36 AM »
0
I am looking at getting the ESU wireless system as my primary layout control of the Boston Line. My current PowerCab will be used in Thailand.

Since I'll be building the layout in segments, I have been looking at power districts. As I understand it, each booster powers a district. If I want sub districts, I split the booster though breakers for each sub district, right? Is there any hard and fast rule for sub district breakers? Should they be a certain fraction of the power rating of the booster?

Also, I will have a reverse loop and a wye. Can I use any brand auto reverser? I know Digitrax has one and I can not find one from ESU. Will I need a separate booster for the reverse loop?
« Last Edit: September 17, 2018, 06:31:24 AM by daniel_leavitt2000 »
You've crossed the walls, excelled
Further along through their hell
All for my heart, I watch you kill
You always have, you always will
Now spread your wings and sail out to me

nstars

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 397
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +28
Re: Power Districts?
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2018, 08:49:49 PM »
0
I am looking at getting the ESU wireless system as my primary layout control of the Boston Line. My current PowerCab will be used in Thailand.

Since I'll be building the layout in segments, I have been looking at power districts. As I understand it, each booster powers a district. If I want sub districts, I split the booster though breakers for each sub district, right? Is there any hard and fast rule for sub district breakers? Should they be a certain fraction of the power rating of the booster?

Also, I will have a reverse loop and a wye. Can I use any brand auto reverser? I know Digitrax has one and I can not find one from ESU. Will I need a separate booster for the reverse loop?

Your setup of booster and circuit breakers is correct. For the circuit breakers it's important that they trip before the booster. This can be achieved by a little bit lower setting for the amps and by using fast reacting circuit breakers. I like to use the PSX circuit breakers and auto reversers from DCC Specialties. They are not cheap but are very fast and very reliable. Note, a fast circuit breaker will also limit the spark of the short circuit. This is getting more important with the auto reverser as this will trip more frequent.

Marc

daniel_leavitt2000

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 4889
  • Respect: +312
Re: Power Districts?
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2018, 10:53:56 PM »
0
Thanks Marc. I'll look into that hardware.
You've crossed the walls, excelled
Further along through their hell
All for my heart, I watch you kill
You always have, you always will
Now spread your wings and sail out to me

learmoia

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1395
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +128
Re: Power Districts?
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2018, 12:06:55 AM »
0
On the DCC Specialties, the Auto Reverser can also control the switch for the reverse loop.. (when it senses the short, it flips the polarity.. and the switch for the train..)

~Ian
Don't Neglect the Jewel Case!

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 18000
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +1372
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Power Districts?
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2018, 02:32:38 AM »
0
Another vote for DCC Specialists breaker/reverser.  It is all solid-state and very fast.  Digitrax units still use mechanical relays (slower response).
--- Peteski de Snarkski
--- Honorary Resident Curmudgeon

learmoia

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1395
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +128
Re: Power Districts?
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2018, 09:30:19 AM »
0
I suppose I should ask.... In my case, if I'm using the reverse loop to control the switch, I assume the loop would need to start and stop at the switch so you don't have any accidental trips while a train is going over.

But my loop is a 20' leg of the layout that I would like to split into 2 districts.. Could I use the AR to protect 1 part of the district including both sides of the "Y" (switch) portion, and nest a breaker for the other district (inside the loop) on the AR Circut..?

(Maybe I need 2 breakers inside the loop so if the AR trips it doesn't cut off power to the other breaker.. Or it just needs to be 1 district.)

~Ian
Don't Neglect the Jewel Case!

Ed Kapuscinski

  • Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 16836
  • Respect: +1625
    • Conrail 1285
Re: Power Districts?
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2018, 11:05:13 AM »
0
Another vote for DCC Specialists breaker/reverser.  It is all solid-state and very fast.  Digitrax units still use mechanical relays (slower response).

Thirded. I love my OGs and OG-ARs. Quick, simple, and actually pretty cheap.
https://www.dccspecialties.com/products/onguard.htm

But take a look at their recommendations here about OGs vs PSXs.
https://www.dccspecialties.com/products/psx_vs_onguard.htm

nstars

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 397
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +28
Re: Power Districts?
« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2018, 09:57:40 PM »
0
I suppose I should ask.... In my case, if I'm using the reverse loop to control the switch, I assume the loop would need to start and stop at the switch so you don't have any accidental trips while a train is going over.

But my loop is a 20' leg of the layout that I would like to split into 2 districts.. Could I use the AR to protect 1 part of the district including both sides of the "Y" (switch) portion, and nest a breaker for the other district (inside the loop) on the AR Circut..?

(Maybe I need 2 breakers inside the loop so if the AR trips it doesn't cut off power to the other breaker.. Or it just needs to be 1 district.)

~Ian

Ian,

I can't completely follow your situation (a sketch may help), but if I understand correctly you want to use the AR controlling 2 sections at the same time? If that is the case, then I would not recommended it as it (depending on your situation) may create the situation that 2 trains may cause the AR to trip at the same time and then it becomes a mess. It is possible to use 2 districts in the return loop, but in that case you have to consider the regular circuit breaker as an extended leg of the wye. Please do remember that it is best that the AR section is long enough. Preferably as long as the longest train.

Marc