Author Topic: Help with ME #6 Code 55 Turnouts  (Read 7283 times)

chuck geiger

• Crew
  • Las Piedras Railroad - Destination Desert
  • Respect: +2412
Help with ME #6 Code 55 Turnouts
« on: June 25, 2018, 01:22:13 PM »
As a Atlas only user until now, laid down turnouts, ran test - Stall at turnouts. I was not aware of on DC power, that they need
to have feeder power to stock rails and frog rails. Power through stock is through rail joiners to turnout, Where do I need feeders
on the turnouts for power and how many? Instructions a tad vague. I have never done this before and need to step up my knowledge.
Any visual tutorials? I keep seeing how to power frog, not the rails.
Chuck Geiger
provencountrypd@gmail.com

OldEastRR

• Crew
  • Respect: +284
Re: Help with ME #6 Code 55 Turnouts
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2018, 01:28:41 PM »
I've never heard of unpowered frogs on ME turnouts. I have ones from all stages they ran thru, from gaps with the rails at the end of the frog (not the points side) to soldered-together non-gaps at the frogs. Stalling usually happens because the points don't make good contact against the rails, so that needs to be kept pretty clean. But if there are gaps between the short ME rails of the switch legs and the frog and you're putting gaps between your flex track and the end of the ME track that's a dead spot.

chuck geiger

• Crew
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2018, 01:39:43 PM »

Chuck Geiger

mmagliaro

• Crew
  • Respect: +1779
    • Maxcow Online
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2018, 01:45:35 PM »
Are these the current generation ME turnouts with the isolated frogs that are DCC friendly?
Unless you bought them years ago, they are. 

The frogs and the frog rails (the rails going out from the frog) will be dead unless you power them
(with something like a microswitch attached to the throwbar).

I found a web page that diagrams this pretty well:
http://www.wiringfordcc.com/switches_ME_BK.htm

chuck geiger

• Crew
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2018, 01:51:16 PM »