Author Topic: Please don't ask for an N model if you don't intend to buy it...  (Read 2004 times)

rapidotrains

• Crew
  • Respect: +263
+6
As you guys know, I have only recently had to learn the N scale ropes after Mike passed away, and I now manage our N scale models. So I am relatively new to the N scale world.

Whenever we post anything HO-related on our Facebook page, we get inundated with "when will this be announced in N scale?" or similar posts. Some of them occasionally get quite angry - people can get really pissed off that we've made yet another model that they want but in the wrong scale.

Last month we posted HO scale mystery boxes on our Facebook page. These are boxes for $150 filled with random stuff from our warehouse. The FIRST comment was "shame its on HO mystery boxes and not any N Scale ones" (I think he meant "it's only" not "its on"). The 21 HO mystery boxes sold out in less than two hours.

So over the weekend we launched the N scale mystery boxes. Of the 21 we made, eight are still available two days later. So we went back and counted how many people complained that the HO boxes weren't available in N scale. Nine people made comments that we should produce mystery boxes in N, or shame they weren't in N, etc. Of those nine people, only ONE bought the N scale box, and that original poster wasn't one of them.

What this suggests to me is that we can't take the requests for N scale as being "hard" requests. I think a lot of N scalers request that we produce models in N as a way of "helping the team" - i.e. the more we ask for N scale models, the more likely we'll see more N scale, even if we have absolutely no need for whatever model we've just asked for. If I go back and look at our emails and social media, I see the same people asking for wildly different models in N scale. I don't think many SP modellers really plan to order a VIA Rail Canada F40...