Author Topic: Basic Wiring Question  (Read 1468 times)

strummer

• Crew
  • Respect: +63
Basic Wiring Question
« on: July 09, 2017, 10:48:03 AM »
First off, please forgive the "elementary" level of this question.  :facepalm:
Although I've been an "armchair" modeler for 40(!) years, I only recently acquired the room to actually have a layout, so I have little knowledge about such things as wiring for operation.
I plan on having a couple of reverse loops. Now, I recall Atlas sold something at one time (a little box with a couple of slide switches) that was designed for such a situation. Perhaps it was called a "Controller"?
I have (2) power packs: an MRC "ControlMaster VI" and the Heathkit RP-1065: both have a switch and track outputs marked "Reverse Loop".
Does this mean these built-in circuits will do the same thing the Atlas product was designed for?
Again, sorry for asking such a basic question....

Mark in Oregon

jagged ben

• Crew
  • Respect: +413
Re: Basic Wiring Question
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2017, 11:34:42 AM »
The Atlas Controller is the correct product for controlling a reverse loop and selecting between two cabs.  I found a diagram online for the Heathkit which shows that it can control a reverse loop but only for one cab.  I couldn't find info on that MRC but I would guess it is similar.  If you want to use both your power packs to run two trains at once then the Controller is an easy way to go.  You'll need one Controller for each reverse section.  You'll also need a Selector or some DPDT switches to switch the mainline between the two powerpacks.

If you only plan to ever run one train, you could probably just use the Heathkit and hook all reverses to it's reverse output.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2017, 11:40:13 AM by jagged ben »

strummer

• Crew
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2017, 01:06:38 PM »
Thanks Ben

I will search for the link you found... :)