Author Topic: Thoughts on a new track product line  (Read 3222 times)

DKS

• The Pitt
  • Crew
  • Dead Man Modeling
  • Respect: +3791
    • David's Modeling Journey
Thoughts on a new track product line
« on: February 12, 2013, 03:02:02 PM »
I'm starting an open discussion for the purpose of evaluating a potential new track product.

My recent failure handlaying Nn3 track spawned an idea. Well, in truth, I've been contemplating this for a couple of years now, with an eye toward producing a line of Z scale track. But I like the idea of Nn3 better as a test.

The concept is to laser-cut one-piece tie components. The ties would have built-in tie plates, which create slots for rail. The rail would simply be glued into the slots.

I quickly threw together artwork to laser-cut an acrylic master, which I then cast in tie-colored resin. (The rastered woodgrain effect came out better than expected.) Then I cut and glued pieces of rail. It took all of about 20 minutes to assemble a proof-of-concept prototype.

There are a great many hurdles to overcome before this could be a viable product. Tolerances need to be tweaked, artwork improved, and accommodations for functional points need to be made; the prototype is not functional, although a Z scale truck does roll through it perfectly, so it's not too far off the mark.

The rail is secured with thick CA, although I think Pliobond might be a better choice. I might also be more sanguine if there was a PC board tie in between each section of track (this would also make electrical feeds easier). The frog is not soldered, and I don’t think it needs to be, although for electrical reliability, both rails should be powered.

I'd like to see what the inhabitants here thing about this. If there's no potential commercial interest, I won't be heartbroken—I'm doing it mainly for myself, so I can have some decent-looking Nn3 track for my layout that's easier to build.