Author Topic: Bachmann GP7 (w/dcc) problem  (Read 862 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rswinnerton

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1312
  • Gender: Male
  • The Anti-Ed
  • Respect: +19
    • Luxury Rail Travel
Bachmann GP7 (w/dcc) problem
« on: March 25, 2012, 03:53:32 PM »
0
Ok, so I got a loop of track down and wanted to test it out. I hooked up my Digitrax Super Chief and plopped it on the track and she ran beautifully. I added about 10 cars and still, flawless. After a couple back and forths, it started running eratically, so I checked wiring connections and checked to make sure the track was clean and tried again. This time, the only thing that happened was the headlight flickered. Now, it won't even do that. It seems completely dead. I pulled one of my HO units out of the box and it seemed to run just fine. I checked my Digitrax setup as well and everything is on and set for N scale.

Any ideas?
Russ
Russ Swinnerton
Dr. of Ferroequinology
www.LuxRailTravel.com

choochin3

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 671
  • Respect: +1
Re: Bachmann GP7 (w/dcc) problem
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2012, 05:27:16 PM »
0
Gotta big hammer?  :trollface:
Carl T.
President of the Cape James Terminal Lines.

Wlal13again

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 714
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +3
Re: Bachmann GP7 (w/dcc) problem
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2012, 05:30:55 PM »
0
Had the same issue with a an Atlas GP15 and it was a bad decoder..
You`ll never find a Philly cheese steak on a menu in Philadelphia. It`s called a cheesesteak and we all know where it`s from...

Ed Kapuscinski

  • Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 18184
  • Has a degree in American History & Culture.
  • Respect: +2342
    • Conrail 1285
Re: Bachmann GP7 (w/dcc) problem
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2012, 05:55:39 PM »
0
You can double check with the MP15 too. It's got DCC as well. ID is the road number.

rswinnerton

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1312
  • Gender: Male
  • The Anti-Ed
  • Respect: +19
    • Luxury Rail Travel
Re: Bachmann GP7 (w/dcc) problem
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2012, 05:58:23 PM »
0
I don't want to let the smoke out of your MP Ed, so I've been hesitant to try it.

If it is a bad decoder, is there another Plug n play model for them? (This N scale stuff is a whole different beast.)
Russ Swinnerton
Dr. of Ferroequinology
www.LuxRailTravel.com

wm3798

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 13328
  • Gender: Male
  • I like models. She likes antiques. Perfect!
  • Respect: +1556
    • Western Maryland Railway Western Lines
Re: Bachmann GP7 (w/dcc) problem
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2012, 06:15:56 PM »
0
Here's the deal.  The Bachmann decoder is far from cutting edge tech.  My first suspect would be that.  The second suspect would be the Bachmann motor itself.  I had the H15-44, which has a similar set up, and I had similar problems.  It ended up being a short inside the motor.

I've got one of the new RS3's, which operates quite nicely...

If other lokies run fine on the system, then the problem is isolated to the engine.   Pull the motor out, and do a two wire/straight DC test, and see what happens.  I'll bet you a Polock that it's the motor.

Lee
Rockin' It Old School

Lee Weldon www.wmrywesternlines.net

SkipGear

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1869
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +95
Re: Bachmann GP7 (w/dcc) problem
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2012, 06:49:57 PM »
0
I bet it is the connection between the decoder and the loco. When it cuts out, does the headlight go out also?

The decoder just has a couple of PB tabs that contact the tops of the split frame. I have seen a few of them that were not soldered well or just needed a little more bend for good stong contact.
Tony Hines

central.vermont

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2513
  • Gender: Male
  • Jon
  • Respect: +106
Re: Bachmann GP7 (w/dcc) problem
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2012, 07:25:58 PM »
0
I bet it is the connection between the decoder and the loco. When it cuts out, does the headlight go out also?

The decoder just has a couple of PB tabs that contact the tops of the split frame. I have seen a few of them that were not soldered well or just needed a little more bend for good stong contact.

I'm with SkipGear on this. Most likely it's a connection problem.
Now if that doesn't fix it, Feather River Trains may have the answer.  :D

Jon


sizemore

  • The Pitt
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2613
  • Respect: +31
Re: Bachmann GP7 (w/dcc) problem
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2012, 07:27:38 PM »
0
The latest Bachmann runs come overlubed, try cleaning the contact pads too.

The S.