Author Topic: loco takes off  (Read 1407 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

asciibaron

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3101
  • Respect: 0
    • Steve's Happy Fun Time IntarWebs
loco takes off
« on: June 03, 2008, 10:46:07 PM »
0
i attempted to write to speed table to a dn163 decoder - now it just takes off when i put it on the main - help.

the board says DN163A4 (RoHS complaint version) - i have attempted to reset CV8, but the loco does not send an acknowledge.  when i move the loco to the main, it just takes off at full throttle and i have zero control...

-steve
« Last Edit: June 04, 2008, 07:56:49 AM by asciibaron »
Quote from: Chris333
How long will it be before they show us how to add DCC to a tree?

POVC

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 502
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +4
Re: loco takes off
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2008, 09:46:21 PM »
0
i attempted to write to speed table to a dn163 decoder - now it just takes off when i put it on the main - help.

the board says DN163A4 (RoHS complaint version) - i have attempted to reset CV8, but the loco does not send an acknowledge.  when i move the loco to the main, it just takes off at full throttle and i have zero control...

-steve

Congratulations, you just fried your first decoder.   ;D

One of the issues with the new RoHS compliant decoders is whiskers developing in the lead-free solder.  In the initial run(s) of DN163A0/DN163A4 this manifested itself in the decoder shorting out and frying when attempting to write to the speed tables.   :P  There was quite a bit of discussion about this on the Atlas forum right after these decoders hit the street, and there may have even been a topic or two about it here on RailWire.

About your only option now is to return the product to Digitrax as defective for repair/replacement.

Tim

asciibaron

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3101
  • Respect: 0
    • Steve's Happy Fun Time IntarWebs
Re: loco takes off
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2008, 08:19:34 AM »
0
i contacted them and they require a receipt to repair it - of course, i can't find the receipt - this was purchased last August from TexNRails at the Bedford show. 

-Steve
Quote from: Chris333
How long will it be before they show us how to add DCC to a tree?

John

  • Administrator
  • Crew
  • *****
  • Posts: 10833
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +496
Re: loco takes off
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2008, 04:06:22 PM »
0
Get a new one from Kleins, use that receipt to send the bad one back ..  then you have two

Bob Bufkin

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 6396
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +42
Re: loco takes off
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2008, 05:07:20 PM »
0
Get a new one from Kleins, use that receipt to send the bad one back ..  then you have two

That's worked for me before!!!

asciibaron

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3101
  • Respect: 0
    • Steve's Happy Fun Time IntarWebs
Re: loco takes off
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2008, 05:58:39 PM »
0
i just found the receipt - it was in the, are you ready for it, filing cabinet.  doh!

i talked to Dave @ Digitrax and it goes back tomorrow.

-Steve
Quote from: Chris333
How long will it be before they show us how to add DCC to a tree?

asciibaron

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3101
  • Respect: 0
    • Steve's Happy Fun Time IntarWebs
Re: loco takes off
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2008, 09:30:51 AM »
0
new decoder is installed and everything is fine.  life is good.
Quote from: Chris333
How long will it be before they show us how to add DCC to a tree?