Author Topic: Nittany and Lock Haven: An HCD Layout in N Scale  (Read 13648 times)

primavw

• Crew
  • "Life begins at the end of your comfort zone"
  • Respect: 0
    • Nittany and Lock Haven HCD Layout
Nittany and Lock Haven: An HCD Layout in N Scale
« on: January 24, 2014, 02:57:14 PM »
Well, I am new to Railwire, but not necessarily new to the hobby. My third layout is a work and progress which I began in October of 2013. I have used some of the lessons I learned and applied them to this layout.

This time, I wanted to focus on modern era coal. It was really hard to let go of the "shopping list of things" I wanted for this layout, but since I am renting a home, I decided it needed to be somewhat portable. I decided with the help of others than an HCD layout would be best for what I needed. I decided it was time for me to give code 55 a try. I had to acquire new and used Code 55 from eBay but managed to scrounge up enough for my use.

A bit of history:
So, I will be loosely basing this layout on the Nittany and Bald Eagle/Tyrone/Lock Haven Pennslyvania Coal ops. "Loosely" being the key word here. This will also allow me to run some Amtrak stuff as Tyrone has a passenger station. I will eventually take some time and paint and decal some NBER stock, but NS runs coal trains through the NBER so I won't need them right away, especially since I doubt decals will be readily accessible. Clymer has a strip mine which is loaded into rail cars by front end loader. It looks like the customer uses RJ Corman, so this gives me another prospect of Loco Detailing!!!

The track plan I am working from (not to scale of course)

The basic benchwork:

Anyway fast forward to this week. The track laying phase seems to be taking a while. The results are good though.