Author Topic: Painting Locomotive Trucks  (Read 4339 times)

Agatheron

Painting Locomotive Trucks
« on: February 10, 2006, 05:56:35 PM »
Hi All,

I've posted on other boards, but this is the first and best place that I've found for advice on weathering N-Scale equipment.

My question has to do with a locomotive I cobbled together through a series of ebay purchases. I had been looking for a Kato C44-9W in Canadian National colours for some time. I was successful in finding a shell, and then a chassis on 2 separate auctions within a week. The shell requires additional decalling for road numbers and designations... that doesn't frighten me as I've already painted a locomotive from the plastic up... My question is more on the trucks. The chassis unfortunately came with grey trucks as opposed to black... but since I figured I'd be weathering it anyway, I could paint it while I was at it.

I've never dismantled locomotive trucks (or even rolling stock trucks)  before as I am still new to this hobby. Otherwise, I am an experienced modeller/painter, but I am a little leery about paint and working electrical devices... Any suggestions as how best to proceed?

Thanks in advance...

pedro

• Crew
  • Respect: +329
Re: Painting Locomotive Trucks
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2006, 06:54:38 PM »