Author Topic: Build a code 40 turnout in a code 55 fixture?  (Read 650 times)

freedj

• Crew
  • Respect: +333
Build a code 40 turnout in a code 55 fixture?
« on: March 15, 2024, 09:24:15 PM »
I have one #6 code 40 turnout that I want to build for the layout, and I have all the tooling for Code 55 turnouts from Fast Tracks.  The point form tool is the same for 40 and 55, but the jig is different.  The PDF tie sheet is the same for 40 vs 55.  Has anyone tried to build a code 40 turnout in a 55 fixture? 

It seems like if I push all the rails the same direction in the jig then the different size of the rail foot shouldn't matter. It will be more fiddly than normal, but I could see it working. Will it be easier than just doing it on the print out directly with the standards gauge? 

Maletrain

• Crew
  • Respect: +564
Re: Build a code 40 turnout in a code 55 fixture?
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2024, 10:00:18 AM »
I am no expert on making turnouts (yet?), but I think you want to push the rails towards the center, not all to one side.  The reason is track gauge.  You want the inner edges of the rail heads to be the same distance apart no matter the size of the rail heads.

But, the jigs don't directly space the rail heads, they space the rail feet.  So, if the code 55 foot is wider than the code 40 foot, then the heads will still not be spaced quite correctly.  And there is noticeable difference in rail head width, so I expect there is also substantial difference in rail foot width.

Still, it might be good enough.  I suggest that you put some code 40 rails in your jig and hold them against the center surfaces, then measure the resulting gauge with an NMRA track gauge tool.  IF it passes, then maybe worth a try to assemble a turnout that way.  As I think about it a bit more, probably best to actually solder two pieces of code 40 rail to a tie before using the NMRA gauge.