Author Topic: Atlas SD24 Master Line loco  (Read 405 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

atsfrules

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Respect: 0
Atlas SD24 Master Line loco
« on: November 06, 2021, 04:34:41 PM »
0
Looking for some help.  I have a Atlas SD24 master line loco which came with a decoder installed.  The loco is getting power as the headlight works and responds to forward or reverse.  But other than that the loco will not move.  I added solder to the pads to help the decoder fit tight in the frame.  Any thoughts on what I should do next?  Thanks, Jerold

Mike C

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 811
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +116
Re: Atlas SD24 Master Line loco
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2021, 05:06:34 PM »
+1
   You might want to hardwire the motor contacts .  If its like other Atlas disels it is a common problem .......Mike

mu26aeh

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3963
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +1497
Re: Atlas SD24 Master Line loco
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2021, 05:10:00 PM »
0
Agree with Mike, it's the motor contacts to the bottom of the decoder, not enough tension.  Easiest solution is to solder the contacts to/thru the board if there are slots (ie NCE boards)

wcfn100

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 8466
  • Respect: +744
    • Chicago Great Western Modeler
Re: Atlas SD24 Master Line loco
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2021, 05:38:43 PM »
0
Is the motor spinning?

Jason

atsfrules

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Respect: 0
Re: Atlas SD24 Master Line loco
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2021, 10:26:27 PM »
0
Thanks, I will try hard wiring the motor leads.

No, the motor is not spinning.

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 26919
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +2880
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Atlas SD24 Master Line loco
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2021, 08:16:01 PM »
0
You could take the shell off, then try pressing down on the decoder board where the motor contacts are, and (with the speed cranked up) see if that makes the motor run.  If it does, then you know what the problem is.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2021, 09:21:35 PM by peteski »
. . . 42 . . .

Steveruger45

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1587
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +457
Re: Atlas SD24 Master Line loco
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2021, 09:02:34 PM »
+1
Or just pry up the motor contact tabs a little  to make a more positive pressure contact with the decoders motor pads.
Steve
Atascocita, Texas

davefoxx

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 10709
  • Gender: Male
  • TRW Plaid Member
  • Respect: +4439
Re: Atlas SD24 Master Line loco
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2021, 11:19:48 AM »
0
Or just pry up the motor contact tabs a little  to make a more positive pressure contact with the decoders motor pads.

I was always able to get this to work, but sometimes you may even have to bend the tabs fore or aft as well, to really get full contact on the pads.  But, I'm lazy.  Hardwiring is the best option.

DFF

General Counsel to the Laurel Valley Ry.
Member: ACL/SAL Historical Society
Member: Wilmington & Western RR
A Proud HOer
BUY ALL THE TRAINS!

woodone

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 680
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +16
Re: Atlas SD24 Master Line loco
« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2021, 11:43:52 AM »
0
If the decoder does not have the small slots for the motor tabs I always use a small jumper between the motor tabs and the decoder.
Makes for a sure connection!