Author Topic: Broadway's SW7's and NW2's have arrived!  (Read 1556 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

GM50 4164

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 98
  • Respect: +36
Broadway's SW7's and NW2's have arrived!
« on: September 03, 2021, 09:38:11 PM »
0
Just noticed on eBay that people have the switchers now! Been hesitant to try them. Here's hoping the Paragon 4's are improved from earlier versions.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2021, 01:01:16 AM by GaryHinshaw »


Benjamin H

rrjim1

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 301
  • Respect: +28
Re: Broadway's SW7's and NW2's have arrived!
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2021, 06:42:29 AM »
0
Should have two next week!  A friend of mine ran her two SW7s of the last run on my layout and they ran great. 

CBQ Fan

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2954
  • Respect: +212
Re: Broadway's SW7's and NW2's have arrived!
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2021, 09:04:45 AM »
0
My little Q unit runs very well.
Brian

Way of the Zephyr

tehachapifan

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2367
  • Respect: +481
Re: Broadway's SW7's and NW2's have arrived!
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2021, 01:32:43 PM »
0
Love mine! Looks, runs and sounds great! Especially like that the RPM's will ramp-up and down automatically under load or on a grade. This is one feature I really wish ESU sound decoders had (at least when a loco is running solo). My Zimo's do it as well. Really reminds me of how I remember SP switchers sounding on a branch line I lived close to.


Tom L

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 388
  • Respect: +436
Re: Broadway's SW7's and NW2's have arrived!
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2021, 01:50:56 PM »
0
I would like to get one of these. I’m a DC guy but the idea of having some sound is intriguing. I believe this will require the DC master box wired in between my throttle output and the layout, no big deal.

More importantly, how is the loco performance with DC?

If these run well on DC, I would probably be in for some of their F’s as well.

Tom L
Wellington CO


CBQ Fan

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2954
  • Respect: +212
Re: Broadway's SW7's and NW2's have arrived!
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2021, 02:25:04 PM »
0
I would like to get one of these. I’m a DC guy but the idea of having some sound is intriguing. I believe this will require the DC master box wired in between my throttle output and the layout, no big deal.

More importantly, how is the loco performance with DC?

If these run well on DC, I would probably be in for some of their F’s as well.

Tom L
Wellington CO

I run all my BL locos on straight DC. I have the DC Master control module but it isn’t hooked up. You don’t get all the features but you get enough for me on DC.
Brian

Way of the Zephyr

rrjim1

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 301
  • Respect: +28
Re: Broadway's SW7's and NW2's have arrived!
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2021, 01:59:57 AM »
0
Received two NW2's Tuesday and have a couple hours on them, they run, look  and sound great. They also weight more than a LifeLike, 60 grams.

Ed Kapuscinski

  • Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 20715
  • Head Kino
  • Respect: +4077
    • Conrail 1285
Re: Broadway's SW7's and NW2's have arrived!
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2021, 11:15:26 AM »
0
So this was a problem...

Aww yeah. The fodder for this beauty is awaiting pickup:
https://conrailphotos.thecrhs.org/photos/cr-9226-secaucus-nj-3-1-1979-0

central.vermont

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2588
  • Gender: Male
  • Jon
  • Respect: +127
Re: Broadway's SW7's and NW2's have arrived!
« Reply #8 on: September 09, 2021, 02:27:33 PM »
0
The biggest problem I have with the NW2/SW7 is neither loco's have the full length handrails.
Unfortunately the roads I want need the full length handrails. :x :x
Anyone else have this same complaint or
know of a way to remedy this?

What do you plan on doing Ed Kapuscinski?

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 15987
  • Respect: +3865
Re: Broadway's SW7's and NW2's have arrived!
« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2021, 03:22:42 PM »
0
Were any of them delivered with full length handrails?  Many Erie switchers had them, but if you find photos closer to when they were built the don't have then yet. Must have been something Erie did themselves.

Erie 422:
http://www.rr-fallenflags.org/el/loco/erie422jza.jpg
EL 422:
http://www.rr-fallenflags.org/el/loco/el422ajh.jpg
« Last Edit: September 09, 2021, 03:42:24 PM by Chris333 »

mecgp7

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 556
  • Respect: +147
Re: Broadway's SW7's and NW2's have arrived!
« Reply #10 on: September 09, 2021, 03:31:21 PM »
0
The biggest problem I have with the NW2/SW7 is neither loco's have the full length handrails.
Unfortunately the roads I want need the full length handrails. :x :x
Anyone else have this same complaint or
know of a way to remedy this?

What do you plan on doing Ed Kapuscinski?

Somebody made etched brass ones as I used to have a set. I wonder if you could use the side rails from the MTL SW1500? Depending on stanchion spacing, you could probably find some handrails from another loco.
When you figure it out, John, let me know!!

Ed Kapuscinski

  • Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 20715
  • Head Kino
  • Respect: +4077
    • Conrail 1285
Re: Broadway's SW7's and NW2's have arrived!
« Reply #11 on: September 09, 2021, 04:42:25 PM »
0
Were any of them delivered with full length handrails?  Many Erie switchers had them, but if you find photos closer to when they were built the don't have then yet. Must have been something Erie did themselves.

Erie 422:
http://www.rr-fallenflags.org/el/loco/erie422jza.jpg
EL 422:
http://www.rr-fallenflags.org/el/loco/el422ajh.jpg

They got them during their careers because apparently crews didn't like sliding off the walkways. Apparently the 567Bs were "oily disasters" (according to a friend).

I'm not sure exactly my plan. I've thought about using SW1500s ones, but I'm going to see what else I have kicking around. I'm only concerned with getting "close".

davefoxx

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 10491
  • Gender: Male
  • TRW Plaid Member
  • Respect: +4022
Re: Broadway's SW7's and NW2's have arrived!
« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2021, 06:40:10 PM »
0
They got them during their careers because apparently crews didn't like sliding off the walkways. Apparently the 567Bs were "oily disasters" (according to a friend).

I'm not sure exactly my plan. I've thought about using SW1500s ones, but I'm going to see what else I have kicking around. I'm only concerned with getting "close".

Ed,

Look to see if there's a Baldwin switcher available in N scale that you could build the handrails from.  Those brackets that connect the stanchions to the walkway remind me of handrails on some Baldwin switchers.

Hope this helps,
DFF

General Counsel to the Laurel Valley Ry.
Member: ACL/SAL Historical Society
Member: Wilmington & Western RR
A Proud HOer
BUY ALL THE TRAINS!

garethashenden

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1442
  • Respect: +631
Re: Broadway's SW7's and NW2's have arrived!
« Reply #13 on: September 09, 2021, 07:11:09 PM »
0
Were any of them delivered with full length handrails?  Many Erie switchers had them, but if you find photos closer to when they were built the don't have then yet. Must have been something Erie did themselves.

Erie 422:
http://www.rr-fallenflags.org/el/loco/erie422jza.jpg
EL 422:
http://www.rr-fallenflags.org/el/loco/el422ajh.jpg

B&M 1211 at LaGrange January 1949 with full length outside handrails. https://www.flickr.com/photos/bmrrhs/14575021221/in/album-72157635452521922/

CrazyLynx

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 50
  • Respect: 0
Re: Broadway's SW7's and NW2's have arrived!
« Reply #14 on: September 15, 2021, 12:22:20 PM »
0
I received my two Southern units yesterday and really like them. They sound good, very much like the real-sized SW7 butthead I have had the pleasure to run (first locomotive I ran, so it has a special place in my heart), and run very well so far.
I'm pleased with that model! I think my old little life-like model is going to retire to a corner of the engine facility.