Author Topic: ESU LokSound Select Micro Install in Kato N-Scale SD45  (Read 6006 times)

woodone

• Crew
  • Respect: +33
Re: ESU LokSound Select Micro Install in Kato N-Scale SD45
« Reply #30 on: February 11, 2018, 09:07:49 PM »
Can’t you just cut .001 off the PC board, that would remove the copper. No need to cut a .010 cut on the board.
I think the trick would be to hold the PCB flat!

peteski

• Crew
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +4623
    • Coming (not so) soon...
« Reply #31 on: February 11, 2018, 09:12:08 PM »
Can’t you just cut .001 off the PC board, that would remove the copper. No need to cut a .010 cut on the board.
I think the trick would be to hold the PCB flat!

Correct on both counts. But I have been etching PC boards for about 40 years, so for me it is easier and neater to etch them.
. . . 42 . . .

conrad

• Crew
  • Respect: +46
« Reply #32 on: November 28, 2020, 09:23:51 PM »
First up was milling the frame to make room for the decoder and speaker.  I made a decision to put the keep alive capacitors in the fuel tank, as there just wasn't a lot of room with this frame and shell

In this photo, you can see that I took down the read portion of the frame, down to the top of the part numbers, and made another large pad area in front, near the cab. Since the capacitors are in the fuel tank, I also milled a channel, to the rear, for the wires from them.   I also touched down a couple of high spots, which resulted in an oops, right above the motor tab, due to complete stupidity on my part while moving the X-Y table, and forgetting to adjust Z. 

(Attachment Link)

View of milling, from above

(Attachment Link)

Here is the fuel tank (which also demonstrates the importance of double checking your dimensions - all I needed was the smaller opening, but when marking... oh well)  You can see the start of the wire channel

(Attachment Link)

Close up of wire channel
(Attachment Link)

Rick