Author Topic: LED's and Resistors  (Read 844 times)

dcarrell8

• Crew
  • Respect: +207
    • Otter Creek & Rio Grande
LED's and Resistors
« on: January 31, 2020, 10:43:20 PM »
I have purchased some 12v Panel lights

[ Guests cannot view attachments ]

I'm wondering if anyone else has used these and can help me out.
The info states that no external resistor is needed.  Does that mean one is included within the housing?  If so what is it's rating. 

The following schematic is what I'm trying to accomplish with this LED but I have no Idea what R1 would be.

[ Guests cannot view attachments ]

I would sure appreciate any help, I'm still very new to electronics.

~Dennis

M and K Fan

• Crew
  • Respect: +1
Re: LED's and Resistors
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2020, 11:32:58 PM »
Yes resistor is in assembly.  I use these both with DC and DCC to indicate power to track.  Works great to see, from across my basement, if power to track is on.
Regards,
Edd

dcarrell8

• Crew
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2020, 11:59:56 PM »
Yes resistor is in assembly.  I use these both with DC and DCC to indicate power to track.  Works great to see, from across my basement, if power to track is on.
Regards,
Edd

Do you know how many ohms the resistor is?  Or how to figure it out by testing?

peteski

• Crew
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +4596
    • Coming (not so) soon...
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2020, 12:28:32 AM »
Well, that lamp assembly is designed to work with 12V.  It will work at 5V (in your circuit), but at reduced brightness.

As for the built in resistor value, why do you want to figure out its value?  Is it to get the total resistance approximately to 10k ohm?  Either way, with a 10k resistor (and 5V), that lamp will not glow very brightly.
If you want to try to figure out the resistor value without taking the lamp apart, you need to hook up an ammeter in series with the lamp.  Then hook this circuit up to a 12V power supply and take a current reading.