Author Topic: Question for those with Arduino experience.  (Read 1970 times)

narrowminded

• Crew
  • Respect: +743
Question for those with Arduino experience.
« on: November 30, 2019, 01:41:24 AM »
I'm considering getting an Arduino Uno to toy with as it seems like it could be very useful piece to know about to drive steppers and to automate some basic train functions.  I have zero experience with these but they tout the open source and ease of use which sounds like it's just the ticket for me. ;)

So when I go to look at some I find "Uno" at prices all over the place yet all claiming to be Uno's.  Closer inspection says they're not, at least not physically, and that leads to the question.  Is there any reason to stay with the original Arduino Uno or are the variants truly the same in function and with reasonable reliability? :|
Mark G.

rodsup9000

• Crew
  • Respect: +644
Re: Question for those with Arduino experience.
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2019, 11:17:36 AM »
+1
 I've been using the cheapest Uno's and Mega's I can find and haven't had any problems with them. I have 7 mega's and 2 Uno's on the layout controlling turnouts. Using the cheap boards on the 5 FDM printers and 2 CNC routers.
Rodney

My Feather River Canyon in N-scale
http://www.therailwire.net/forum/index.php?topic=31585.0

narrowminded

• Crew
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2019, 12:54:46 PM »
Thanks @rodsup9000  8)

That's exactly the kind of feedback I was looking for!  You wouldn't have any pictures of some of your installations or basic descriptions of any additional components, downloads, breakout boards, or the like I might need?  I'm not looking for the complete nitty gritty but a simple summary that might help to aim me in the right direction for things I'll need to search and study.  I suspect I'll be fine but at this point I have NO experience so don't even know what I don't know.  8)