Author Topic: NEM 662 (Next18) Sound DCC Decoder  (Read 1148 times)

MegaBlackJoe

• Respect: +29
NEM 662 (Next18) Sound DCC Decoder
« on: November 12, 2019, 03:21:10 PM »
Hello, my name is Tim. I am a fellow railway modeler from Russia. A friend of mine is a dcc engineer - he has a small team that produces sound dcc decoders. He is a well known manufacturer in Russia and in fact has done 3 successful projects with sound locomotive decoders. So far he has dcc sound decoders that fit into HO and N scale locomotives. These are NEM652, Plux16/12/8 and NEM651 decoders.

Now his idea is to develop Next18 sound dcc to fit N scale and Z scale. But because the development process needs funding, he would like to study the demand first. I would be very grateful, if you could tell if Next18 is popular in the US.

If we can see a demand, such a decoder can be made with the help of crowdfunding. We would need around 300 people wishing to purchase Next18 DCC sound decoder. At this point, the price can be around 75 USD, but it can be dropped further if more people purchase this.

I am not giving any links since it's not an advertisement of services, but rather a research of the market.

So what do you think?
« Last Edit: November 12, 2019, 03:23:07 PM by MegaBlackJoe »

peteski

• Crew
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +4611
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: NEM 662 (Next18) Sound DCC Decoder
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2019, 03:57:17 PM »
One thing that jumps out at me is how do you  use Next18 connector in small Z scale models?

The other thing is the sound files?  Who will design American sound files for that decoder?  No sound files, no sales in USA.  Even more established decoder manufacturers (like ZIMO) don't have good market penetration in USA because they only have a limited selection of American sound files.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2019, 03:59:49 PM by peteski »
. . . 42 . . .

daniel_leavitt2000

• Crew
  • Respect: +1249