Author Topic: Problems with DCC  (Read 5555 times)

Hawghead

• Crew
  • Respect: +323
Problems with DCC
« on: August 31, 2019, 05:12:10 PM »
First of all you have to know I'm a complete noob when it comes to DCC, so speak slowly using small words.  :)  Anyway, I'm starting a new layout using a NCE Power Cab. I bought the Power Cab almost ten years ago but never used it until now.

I bought an Atlas SW-7 converted to HOn3 and DCC on ebay.  I hooked up the Power Cab to a single piece of track and after learning about the difference between long and short locomotive addresses I was able to get the switcher to run. (sorta)  If the engine runs down the track for more than a couple of feet, it doesn't want to respond to speed decrease commands (using either the speed wheel, the decrease speed button or the fast decrease button)  I can see the speed commands stepping down on the LCD display but without affect on the engine.  Now if I only let it run a foot or so then it responds normally, momentum is set to zero. Additionally the headlight doesn't come on.

Second issue, I put my Blackstone K-27 (purchased used) on the track and all the sound functions work but the engine won't respond to the throttle at all (no movement).  Additionally the headlight doesn't work.  So do I have two locomotives that each have problems or do I have a bad Power Cab?

Thanks,
Scott
« Last Edit: August 31, 2019, 05:17:46 PM by Hawghead »
There's a prototype for everything.
If you can't make it perfect, make it adjustable.
DCC is not plug-n-play.

Chris333

• Crew
  • Respect: +5508
Re: Problems with DCC
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2019, 05:41:59 PM »
 :trollface:

Dave V

• Crew
  • Foothills Farm Studios -- Dave's Model Railroading
  • Respect: +8547
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2019, 06:29:41 PM »