Author Topic: Kato engines  (Read 2374 times)

cjp53

• Crew
  • Respect: +2
Kato engines
« on: April 16, 2019, 07:27:32 PM »
I'm new to N scale have a large HO layout in my basement that I did 25 years ago.Now I'm going to make a small layout for upstairs for my grandsons.I have a new Kato CN ES44AC .Do they require a break in period?I very impressed with their slow speed operation.A very good friend sent me the engine and some track.I'm making a small layout from foam board and should have it up and ruining soon.I use to run my HO layout at slow speed for an hour everyday and was never one to run my trains at high speed.I just retired and wish I had done N scale instead of HO.I also have scratched built some truss bridges and a few covered bridges for this N scale out of basswood like I did for my HO layout.I sent my friend a covered bridge,a water tower and shed that I made.

Steveruger45

• Crew
  • Respect: +524
Re: Kato engines
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2019, 08:52:06 PM »
+1
Hello and welcome to n scale.
I have had over the years and have now a good many Kato locos.  All diesel, so I’m not discussing steam locos as I have no experience with steam.  Others on TRW with that experience will likely chip in.

The diesels run extremely well out of the box but do benefit from a small break-in period, say 30mins or so of running roundy- roundy, especially if your converting them to dcc. To my mind it’s not a break-in, in the strictest sense more a bed-in imho as they are so well engineered.
Kato motors do run faster than newer Atlas locos with slow or scale speed motors.
If your using dc control katos slow speed running is good but it’s just you have a smaller dc controller arc to use than you do with an Atlas so very fine speed step control is a little more difficult.

You basically can’t go wrong with a Kato or atlas but don’t forget there are other really good loco makers as well like scale trains, FVM, Rapido and some lifelike too.