Author Topic: 3D-Printed Signal Heads  (Read 6020 times)

C855B

• Crew
  • Respect: +2285
3D-Printed Signal Heads
« on: January 20, 2019, 10:23:11 PM »
+1
@Mark W 's proof-of-concept here demonstrated surprisingly good results in modeling 3-color vertical signal heads with the Photon 3D printer. It's a great start, much improved over SW versions due to the minimum thicknesses of SW output.

Like I said in the other thread, I'm no expert especially with dimensions other than the couple I have in my 1:1 collection, so any and all correction or enlightenment is encouraged.

Random signal modeling notes, in no particular order:
  • Three popular target widths, 24", 30" and 35" (36"?). 24" is mostly modern.
  • Top and bottom target radii are centered on the top and bottom roundels. One significant exception is a "slim" 24" type seen on ex-SOU lines (and probably others), where the radius "clips" the bottom of the lamp housing, and the bottom lens has maybe a couple of inches of target below the lens ring. I hoped to have photos of local versions, but I didn't move fast enough when the PTC Vader-izing crew came through town two years ago.
  • Consider 2, 3 and 4-color variants. Lens center-to-center is 12"
  • Outer doublet (lens) is 8-3/8", the retainer ring is about 1-1/4" wide and 3/8" thick.
  • Visors - there are several shapes of visors, but by and large they amount to short, medium and long. Modern long in the picture below.
  • Hoods - two major distinct versions, modern, and not-modern ;) ; the profiles are different. There are some variations in the older style including things like a top baffle. The older style is still found on UP mostly on intermediate signals. UP, GN and I believe the Canadian roads used the old-style hoods as intended for snow defense.
  • Shop-built hoods exist, with rounded square corners rather than the radius top. Very rare in the US... unless it's the RR you're modeling. Seem to be common in Europe.