Author Topic: FDM State of the Art Is Improving, Too  (Read 1983 times)

C855B

• Crew
  • Respect: +2288
FDM State of the Art Is Improving, Too
« on: December 07, 2018, 02:23:44 PM »
+4
A friend has STL files from a structure project I have been working on for a couple of years, the original digital files from the author of a Model Railroader article about 3D printing. The article project was HO. Here are Craig's latest renditions of the iconic UP Kelso station in N:

This is in his printer's medium res/fast setting. That he is able to do the entire building in a single print is amazing. We're going to try higher res on the roof tiles to see if we are "there" yet, but if not, he has a new printer in the works with smaller nozzles. I have work to do on artwork for the (many) windows, but it is great that "the other" 3D printing method has also come a long ways, too.

davefoxx

• Crew
  • TRW Plaid Member
  • Respect: +6785
Re: FDM State of the Art Is Improving, Too
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2018, 03:08:05 PM »
In a single print?  That is amazing.

That said, if you can't get the roof tiles "there," why not just print the core of the structure and then apply scale roof tiles, siding, and details?

DFF

Member: ACL/SAL Historical Society
Member: Wilmington & Western RR
A Proud HOer
BUY ALL THE TRAINS!

Lemosteam

• Crew
  • PRR, The Standard Railroad of my World
  • Respect: +3160
    • Designer at Keystone Details
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2018, 10:34:36 PM »
Holy crap! You did it!

rodsup9000

• Crew
  • Respect: +644
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2018, 11:38:02 PM »
+1
  Nice looking print, Mike. How log did it take to print, guessing about 15 to 20 hours or more.  If he goes with a .2 nozzle, it will double the print time.