Author Topic: Can laptop PC be successfully used for running CAD software?  (Read 439 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 12425
  • Respect: +2035
Re: Can laptop PC be successfully used for running CAD software?
« Reply #15 on: December 04, 2018, 06:17:01 PM »
0
Mobile device is really only good for killing time at work  :P

When I'm on vacation for a week I don't touch my phone and the data bar graph goes flat.

CodyO

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 706
  • Gender: Male
  • Cody Orr-SPF
  • Respect: +107
Re: Can laptop PC be successfully used for running CAD software?
« Reply #16 on: December 04, 2018, 06:17:43 PM »
0
Would you believe I've never used a laptop in my life.   :facepalm:  Heck I've only visibly seen 2. (both at work)

damn, I`ve literally used over a 1,000 laptops doing initial setups and configs
Modeling the Pennsylvania Middle Division in late 1954
             Nothing Will Stop The US Air Force

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 12425
  • Respect: +2035
Re: Can laptop PC be successfully used for running CAD software?
« Reply #17 on: December 04, 2018, 06:46:12 PM »
0
I must revise my statement. I've seen 3, not 2.

My boss used to bring one to work to watch movies on. He had a mouse and speakers plugged into it and always had to prop it up so the fan could get air or it would shut down.

If I ever had one I would at the very least have a mouse for it.

The other 2 I've seen. One came with a new console at work to re-set it, never needed to use it. It sits in a drawer (maybe I should check to see if someone stole it yet).

The other one was a guy at work would brought it in for me to "fix" I just had him download Malware Bytes and run it. So he fixed it his self.



I could see why people would need one I just never had a use.

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 18358
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +1440
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Can laptop PC be successfully used for running CAD software?
« Reply #18 on: December 04, 2018, 07:24:21 PM »
0
Mobile device is really only good for killing time at work  :P

When I'm on vacation for a week I don't touch my phone and the data bar graph goes flat.

So you do all the Internet browsing on a home PC?  I thought you've surfed the Web, and even accessed TRW on your smart phone.
--- Peteski de Snarkski
--- Honorary Resident Curmudgeon

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 12425
  • Respect: +2035
Re: Can laptop PC be successfully used for running CAD software?
« Reply #19 on: December 04, 2018, 07:37:58 PM »
0
So you do all the Internet browsing on a home PC?  I thought you've surfed the Web, and even accessed TRW on your smart phone.

I do...at work...like right now.

garethashenden

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1012
  • Respect: +216
Re: Can laptop PC be successfully used for running CAD software?
« Reply #20 on: December 05, 2018, 09:50:20 AM »
0
I have a fairly basic Toshiba laptop from 2013, it was something like $550 new. It runs Solidworks just fine. You can’t do much else at the same time, but it works.

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 18358
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +1440
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Can laptop PC be successfully used for running CAD software?
« Reply #21 on: December 05, 2018, 03:56:14 PM »
0
I have a fairly basic Toshiba laptop from 2013, it was something like $550 new. It runs Solidworks just fine. You can’t do much else at the same time, but it works.

But how fast does it repaint the screen when you are rotating the view of something more complex than a cube (like a tank car for example)?  Is it pretty much in real time, or there is a big lag while the image gets repainted?

That sounds like maybe even my current laptop (Dell Latitude  E6410, IntelCore i5 M560 2.67GHz quad core, 4Gb RAM, Intel HD graphic adapter) might work.  Just add more  memory.
--- Peteski de Snarkski
--- Honorary Resident Curmudgeon

MK

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1250
  • Respect: +134
Re: Can laptop PC be successfully used for running CAD software?
« Reply #22 on: December 05, 2018, 04:59:20 PM »
0
Peteski, your laptop with an i5 processor will work.  But 4B won't cut it like you said.  Go 8GB or even better, 16GB.  memory is cheap now a days.

narrowminded

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1168
  • Respect: +289
Re: Can laptop PC be successfully used for running CAD software?
« Reply #23 on: December 05, 2018, 06:54:29 PM »
0
Go for it, Pete.  If you're not applying all sorts of texture and finish, that is both clumsy, distracting, and of no use to your design, you'll probably do fine with as little as 4Gb of ram.  That is the minimum recommended for my Turbocad 19 PRO.  It has run just fine on my old T60 with 4Gb.  Are you going to be trying to jockey every floor, door, and bathroom faucet in a 100 story office building?  And then do simulated walk throughs?  If not, it'll draw what you want for modelling just fine.  And then, worse case and it's actually troublesome, you can add some ram. 8)
« Last Edit: December 06, 2018, 04:51:31 AM by narrowminded »
Mark G.

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 18358
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +1440
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Can laptop PC be successfully used for running CAD software?
« Reply #24 on: December 05, 2018, 06:55:48 PM »
0
Peteski, your laptop with an i5 processor will work.  But 4B won't cut it like you said.  Go 8GB or even better, 16GB.  memory is cheap now a days.

Good to know. Thanks Mike!  I was mostly worried whether the video card will be up to the job, that was why thought a gaming laptop would be good choice. But when I get to the point I start paying with CAD software, even if my current laptop is not up to the task, I can look for a more powerful laptop.
--- Peteski de Snarkski
--- Honorary Resident Curmudgeon

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 18358
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +1440
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Can laptop PC be successfully used for running CAD software?
« Reply #25 on: December 05, 2018, 06:58:52 PM »
0
Go for it, Pete.  If you're not applying all sorts of texture and finish, that is both clumsy, distracting, and of no use to your design, you'll probably do fine with as little as 4 megs of ram.  That is the minimum recommended for my Turbocad 19 PRO.  It has run just fine on my old T60 with 4 megs.  Are you going to be trying to jockey every floor, door, and bathroom faucet in a 100 story office building?  If not, it'll draw what you want just fine.  And then, worse case and it's actually troublesome, you can add some ram. 8)

4 Megs?! Oh mam Mark, you are showing your age!  :D I had a PC in the '90s which had 1Mb of RAM (4x256k SIMMs). I later upgraded it to 4Mb (4x1Mb SIMMs), and later to 16Mb (4x4Mb SIMMs)!  It was a 486DX2-66MHz PC.  :)

I know, 4Gb.  :D
--- Peteski de Snarkski
--- Honorary Resident Curmudgeon

narrowminded

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1168
  • Respect: +289
Re: Can laptop PC be successfully used for running CAD software?
« Reply #26 on: December 05, 2018, 07:02:16 PM »
0

I know, 4Gb.  :D

Megally, giggley, whatever it takes.  But I AM serious.  You'll be fine with what you've got. Certainly to get started with some modelling projects. 8)
« Last Edit: December 05, 2018, 07:06:52 PM by narrowminded »
Mark G.

MK

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1250
  • Respect: +134
Re: Can laptop PC be successfully used for running CAD software?
« Reply #27 on: December 05, 2018, 10:46:03 PM »
0
But how fast does it repaint the screen when you are rotating the view of something more complex than a cube (like a tank car for example)?  Is it pretty much in real time, or there is a big lag while the image gets repainted?

That sounds like maybe even my current laptop (Dell Latitude  E6410, IntelCore i5 M560 2.67GHz quad core, 4Gb RAM, Intel HD graphic adapter) might work.  Just add more  memory.

Peteski, your laptop can only go up to 8GB.  According to Dell:

Dell Latitude E6410 has 2 DIMM slots. The system accepts a memory capacity ranging from 1GB, 2GB, and 4GB. The memory type accepted is DDR3 1066 MHz only. The computer supports a maximum of 8GB* of memory when installed with two 4GB DIMMs.

You might be able to find another 4GB DIMM to match the one that's already there.  Each DIMM runs about $40 +/- on the market.

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 18358
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +1440
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Can laptop PC be successfully used for running CAD software?
« Reply #28 on: December 06, 2018, 03:13:38 AM »
0
Peteski, your laptop can only go up to 8GB.  According to Dell:

Dell Latitude E6410 has 2 DIMM slots. The system accepts a memory capacity ranging from 1GB, 2GB, and 4GB. The memory type accepted is DDR3 1066 MHz only. The computer supports a maximum of 8GB* of memory when installed with two 4GB DIMMs.

You might be able to find another 4GB DIMM to match the one that's already there.  Each DIMM runs about $40 +/- on the market.

Thanks for doing the research Mike!
--- Peteski de Snarkski
--- Honorary Resident Curmudgeon

narrowminded

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1168
  • Respect: +289
Re: Can laptop PC be successfully used for running CAD software?
« Reply #29 on: December 06, 2018, 04:53:53 AM »
0
4 Megs?! Oh man Mark, you are showing your age!  :

OK, I broke down and fixed mine. 8)  And yours. ;)
Mark G.