Author Topic: Photon power supply  (Read 265 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 12892
  • Respect: +2343
Photon power supply
« on: November 29, 2018, 05:08:16 PM »
0
Since they came out the Photons have been shipped with 3 different power supplies. Mine came with the latest version, but it was suggested to replace it.

Input is 100-240volts - 50/60 herts 2.0amps

Output 12volts 6.0amps

There are like a million of these to pick from. How do I know I'm getting a quality unit?

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 19459
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +1615
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Photon power supply
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2018, 05:26:05 PM »
0
Since they came out the Photons have been shipped with 3 different power supplies. Mine came with the latest version, but it was suggested to replace it.

Input is 100-240volts - 50/60 herts 2.0amps

Output 12volts 6.0amps

There are like a million of these to pick from. How do I know I'm getting a quality unit?

Replace it with what?  Unit with the same output rating?  Whoever recommend replacement didn't give any specific recommendations as what the replacement unit should be?
--- Peteski de Snarkski
--- Honorary Resident Curmudgeon

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 12892
  • Respect: +2343
Re: Photon power supply
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2018, 06:00:31 PM »
0
I would guess the same spec just not a crap unit.

MK

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1571
  • Respect: +192
Re: Photon power supply
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2018, 06:30:45 PM »
0
So you want a 12V regulated power supply that can supply at least 6A (or more)?

Go on eBay and serach for server power supply.  Something like this:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-PowerEdge-2650-DPS-500CB-A-0H694-00H694-502W-Power-Supply-oj1540-LOT-L/181721967341?epid=1837862375&hash=item2a4f792aed:g:RfEAAOSwpDdVNPoG:rk:2:pf:0

It'll get you 40+ amps at 12V.  Super regulated.  Takes you 10 mins to convert it to a working power supply.  I gang two of these to power my R/C battery charger.  It's 2x1000 watts.  :D
« Last Edit: November 29, 2018, 06:36:41 PM by MK »

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 19459
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +1615
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Photon power supply
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2018, 06:33:29 PM »
0
I'm wondering what makes the original supply "crappy" in the first place.  Judging by the specs it is a standard switching-type power supply.  And how someone determined that it is in fact "crappy"?  Monitored it on a storage scope (looking for a ripple, glitches, or dropouts) or had some sort of other monitoring device attached to it?
--- Peteski de Snarkski
--- Honorary Resident Curmudgeon

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 12892
  • Respect: +2343
Re: Photon power supply
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2018, 06:40:00 PM »
0
This is what I was told:
Quote
It sounds like an issue with power supply, when it turns on the uv and lcd there's a surge and it can't cope. Latest psu sorted most of the qc problems of the old ones but doesn't mean there's no duds.

Anycubic even has a video to test them, but I don't have the one in the video:
/>
I have the power supply on the right:
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Photonsters/anycubic-photon-docs/master/known-issues/photon_psu_comparison.png

Mark W

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1564
  • Respect: +1176
    • Free-moNebraska
Re: Photon power supply
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2018, 07:33:40 PM »
0
I'd be demanding a replacement from Anycubic before going out and spending additional cash...

Power spikes definitely sounds probable, which also raises concerns that there's an issue internally as well, either causing or as result. 
After the USB issues, might be time for a brand new warranty replacement?   :|
Contact me about custom model building.
Learn more about Free-moNebraska.

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 19459
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +1615
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Photon power supply
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2018, 07:40:55 PM »
0
I'm confused Chris. The video shows a replacement of an internal power supply, while the link shows what are those external "brick" type supplies. Which is it?  Plus, one of those 3 "bricks" seems to be rated at 5A (not 6A). If the printer needs one rated for 6 Amps, then the 5A supply might not have been reliable.
--- Peteski de Snarkski
--- Honorary Resident Curmudgeon

narrowminded

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1461
  • Respect: +426
Re: Photon power supply
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2018, 07:44:16 PM »
0
I'd be demanding a replacement from Anycubic before going out and spending additional cash...

Power spikes definitely sounds probable, which also raises concerns that there's an issue internally as well, either causing or as result. 
After the USB issues, might be time for a brand new warranty replacement?   :|

It seems the two at the right, #2 and #3, are 5 amp, best I can read in the pic.  The one on the left, #1, is rated 6 amp.  Maybe the 5 amp is marginal and a device start drain causes an occasional trip. :|  And that would make sense of the recommendation to replace with a 6 amp.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2018, 07:47:11 PM by narrowminded »
Mark G.

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 12892
  • Respect: +2343
Re: Photon power supply
« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2018, 07:50:42 PM »
0
I posted that the video wasn't the one I had. Looks like for another Anycubic product.

In the photo shown those are the 3 different power supplies that the Photon came with since being released.


peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 19459
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +1615
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Photon power supply
« Reply #11 on: November 29, 2018, 10:16:46 PM »
0
You might as well get the 8A supply for extra breathing room. But at those prices these might be "crappier" than the original one.  :facepalm:  To me this will be a crapshoot. These could be designed for fairly steady current consumption (since LEDs are rather constant load), so I'm not sure how it will deal with current surges.  To me this all seems like shooting with a blindfold on.  :|

If I were you I would ask Mark or Rod to let you borrow their supplies to see if that makes a difference for your machine.  But trying to pry those out of their hands might be impossible.  :D  So buy some random 6A (or higher amperage) supply and see if it makes a difference.  Just make sure you have the polarity correct when hooking up the new supply.
--- Peteski de Snarkski
--- Honorary Resident Curmudgeon

Lemosteam

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3834
  • Gender: Male
  • PRR, The Standard Railroad of my World
  • Respect: +1158
    • Designer at Keystone Details
Re: Photon power supply
« Reply #12 on: November 29, 2018, 10:29:14 PM »
0
There are second hand computer parts stores that might have one with your requirements. Like for a Dell or HP workstation or gaming machine.  You should be able to test the outputs before buying, maybe?

narrowminded

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1461
  • Respect: +426
Re: Photon power supply
« Reply #13 on: November 29, 2018, 10:48:45 PM »
0
Chris, did you ever say if the one you've got is 5 amp or 6 amp?
Mark G.

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 12892
  • Respect: +2343
Re: Photon power supply
« Reply #14 on: November 29, 2018, 10:51:43 PM »
0
Mine is on the right in the photo 6amp.