Author Topic: ESU Loksound select direct micro  (Read 3199 times)

woodone

• Crew
  • Respect: +33
Re: ESU Loksound select direct micro
« Reply #15 on: September 26, 2018, 09:39:44 AM »
Steve, you can’t see the mirror through the smoke-
Seeing you and Carl are located in Texas, could that cause problems?  LOL
I have been doing DCC installs for 20 years, and still get butterfly’s when I first fire up anew install!

tehachapifan

• Crew
  • Respect: +830
« Reply #16 on: September 26, 2018, 12:24:03 PM »
….I have been doing DCC installs for 20 years, and still get butterfly’s when I first fire up anew install!

Me too on the butterflies! I'm kind of like Judge Smails saying "oh, Billy, Billy, Billy" just before I apply power to a new install for the first time. :scared: ;)

Steveruger45

• Crew
  • Respect: +524
« Reply #17 on: October 03, 2018, 08:52:31 PM »
I’ve only been doing dcc and sound installs a relatively short while, I started basically when I signed up to the railwire and started reading JC’s and others install threads.
But yes, even thought I meticulously check everything for possible shorts, good solder joints, etc etc etc, I cant help that as the engineer and wannabe electrician in me demands it, I always have that “caddy shack” moment on first start-up.  But the feeling of a successful install is still worth it.
Steve

peteski

• Crew
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +4593
    • Coming (not so) soon...
« Reply #18 on: October 03, 2018, 09:24:40 PM »
+1
Testing a new install on the programming track should reduce the anxiety level.  :)
. . . 42 . . .

tehachapifan

• Crew
  • Respect: +830
« Reply #19 on: October 04, 2018, 01:19:23 AM »
Testing a new install on the programming track should reduce the anxiety level.  :)

I wasn't aware that would be a safer way to test. Could you please elaborate?

peteski

• Crew
« Reply #20 on: October 04, 2018, 03:17:07 AM »
I wasn't aware that would be a safer way to test. Could you please elaborate?