Author Topic: Anyone else having issues getting TRW to load?  (Read 1443 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

wcfn100

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 7848
    • Chicago Great Western Modeler
Anyone else having issues getting TRW to load?
« on: March 31, 2018, 10:15:55 PM »
I can't get railwire to load using my home wifi.  I'm guessing it's a DNS issue but I use Google DNS so I'm not sure.  I can't mess with my router until Garfield is over.

Anyone else having issues?

Jason

Dave V

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 8943
  • Gender: Male
  • The Route of the Galloping Goose
    • Dave Vollmer's N Scale Pennsy
Re: Anyone else having issues getting TRW to load?
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2018, 10:29:23 PM »
Yup.
Silver San Juan Scenic Line

Member SlimRail Modular Colorado Narrow Gauge
http://www.slimrail.net/

MK

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2267
Re: Anyone else having issues getting TRW to load?
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2018, 10:47:43 PM »
Sometimes normal load speed, other times it just hangs and doesn't load for awhile.

No software or hardware changes on my end.

bbussey

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 7172
  • Gender: Male
    • www.bbussey.net
Re: Anyone else having issues getting TRW to load?
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2018, 11:25:50 PM »
Loads on my laptop, but no longer loads on my iPhone.
Bryan Busséy
NHRHTA #2246
NSE #1117
www.bbussey.net


Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 13694
Re: Anyone else having issues getting TRW to load?
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2018, 12:00:22 AM »
I thought it was just Pete uploading more photos  :D

johnb

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1153
    • My blog
Re: Anyone else having issues getting TRW to load?
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2018, 12:09:03 AM »
It's NOT DNS, it is acting like it is out of ram or resources

wcfn100

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 7848
    • Chicago Great Western Modeler
Re: Anyone else having issues getting TRW to load?
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2018, 12:49:04 AM »
Looks like whatever issue I was having has resolved.


Jason

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 21840
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Anyone else having issues getting TRW to load?
« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2018, 01:38:28 AM »
Looks like whatever issue I was having has resolved.


Jason

Yeah, I finished uploading 243 photos! TRW had to resize all of them!   :trollface: ;)
--- Peteski de Snarkski

-"Look at me, I'm satirical!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm anal retentive!!!"
-"Look at me, I have the most posts evahhhh!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm snarky!!!!"
-"Look at me, I have OCD!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm a curmudgeon!!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm not negative, just blunt and honest!!!"

nscalbitz

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 362
Re: Anyone else having issues getting TRW to load?
« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2018, 07:57:52 AM »
Yup International. Continual timeouts from GMT 0200 till 0400 and I gave up.
Now GMT 1155 (we just cut NZDST) just in.
d

tom mann

  • Administrator
  • Crew
  • *****
  • Posts: 10711
  • Representing The Railwire on The Railwire
    • http://www.chicagoswitching.com
Re: Anyone else having issues getting TRW to load?
« Reply #9 on: April 01, 2018, 09:56:52 AM »
Seriously was anyone uploading photos during this time?

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 21840
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Anyone else having issues getting TRW to load?
« Reply #10 on: April 01, 2018, 01:01:39 PM »
Seriously was anyone uploading photos during this time?

Not me - I was joking.
--- Peteski de Snarkski

-"Look at me, I'm satirical!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm anal retentive!!!"
-"Look at me, I have the most posts evahhhh!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm snarky!!!!"
-"Look at me, I have OCD!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm a curmudgeon!!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm not negative, just blunt and honest!!!"

wcfn100

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 7848
    • Chicago Great Western Modeler
Re: Anyone else having issues getting TRW to load?
« Reply #11 on: April 01, 2018, 03:19:50 PM »
What I was seeing didn't seem to be server related.  I could switch my phone on and off wifi and when off, could get the site to load fine.  On my computer, what started as a 'website took to long to load' quickly changed to an 'your connection is not secure'.  When I tried on Chrome incognito, it went straight to 'page does not exist'.  At one point I got a DNSKEY error.


Jason

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 21840
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Anyone else having issues getting TRW to load?
« Reply #12 on: April 01, 2018, 04:08:18 PM »
I also did notice a problem with TRW yesterday. The name was resolving and my browser (Seamonkey on Win 7)  was showing "waiting for https://www.therailwire.net/ . . . " as the status on the bottom of the browser.  Before it timed out I tried refreshing the page few times, with the same result. Then I stopped the page load and moved on to do other things in mo other browser tabs. When I tried few hours later, TRW was again accessible.
--- Peteski de Snarkski

-"Look at me, I'm satirical!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm anal retentive!!!"
-"Look at me, I have the most posts evahhhh!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm snarky!!!!"
-"Look at me, I have OCD!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm a curmudgeon!!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm not negative, just blunt and honest!!!"

tom mann

  • Administrator
  • Crew
  • *****
  • Posts: 10711
  • Representing The Railwire on The Railwire
    • http://www.chicagoswitching.com
Re: Anyone else having issues getting TRW to load?
« Reply #13 on: April 01, 2018, 08:31:22 PM »
There was a DDoS attack on another site hosted on the same cluster. They company changed Railwire’s IP address and some of us are caching the old one. It should be resolved by tomorrow.

wcfn100

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 7848
    • Chicago Great Western Modeler
Re: Anyone else having issues getting TRW to load?
« Reply #14 on: April 01, 2018, 09:54:41 PM »
There was a DDoS attack on another site hosted on the same cluster. They company changed Railwire’s IP address and some of us are caching the old one. It should be resolved by tomorrow.

May be that explains why when I went to the Google DNS page to find the Railwire IP, the address it gave me went to an insulation website.

Jason