Author Topic: Loksound Decoder without motor...  (Read 600 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

lashedup

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 879
  • Respect: +109
    • Model 160
Loksound Decoder without motor...
« on: January 04, 2018, 06:25:46 PM »
0
Can a loksound decoder be used for diesel engine sounds and light functions without the motor? The motor on this passenger train is in the 3rd car, so I was thinking of using a LokPilot there for motor control.

Thanks!

-jamie

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 21851
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +2528
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Loksound Decoder without motor...
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2018, 06:57:41 PM »
0
Can a loksound decoder be used for diesel engine sounds and light functions without the motor? The motor on this passenger train is in the 3rd car, so I was thinking of using a LokPilot there for motor control.

Thanks!

-jamie

Why not put the LokSound decoder in the motor car (which is where the sound is supposed to come from anyway) and function-only decoders for lights  in the head end car(s)?
--- Peteski de Snarkski

-"Look at me, I'm satirical!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm anal retentive!!!"
-"Look at me, I have the most posts evahhhh!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm snarky!!!!"
-"Look at me, I have OCD!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm a curmudgeon!!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm not negative, just blunt and honest!!!"

lashedup

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 879
  • Respect: +109
    • Model 160
Re: Loksound Decoder without motor...
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2018, 07:12:49 PM »
0
Why not put the LokSound decoder in the motor car (which is where the sound is supposed to come from anyway) and function-only decoders for lights  in the head end car(s)?

Because the prototype has the motor in the head end and the model manufacturer put it in the third car. So if I want the sound to come from the correct car, I've got to install the speaker in the first car. But that would require stringing wires across three cars that I need to be able to uncouple. So I'm stuck with this scenario. :)

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 21851
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +2528
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Loksound Decoder without motor...
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2018, 11:02:27 PM »
0
Because the prototype has the motor in the head end and the model manufacturer put it in the third car. So if I want the sound to come from the correct car, I've got to install the speaker in the first car. But that would require stringing wires across three cars that I need to be able to uncouple. So I'm stuck with this scenario. :)

Ahhhh. . .
In theory that should work (leaving the motor output unconnected).  But if the Diesel sound is synced to the model's motor speed and load (BEMF), then the Diesel sound might not be in sync with the speed of the model.  Just a speculation.
--- Peteski de Snarkski

-"Look at me, I'm satirical!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm anal retentive!!!"
-"Look at me, I have the most posts evahhhh!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm snarky!!!!"
-"Look at me, I have OCD!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm a curmudgeon!!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm not negative, just blunt and honest!!!"

lashedup

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 879
  • Respect: +109
    • Model 160
Re: Loksound Decoder without motor...
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2018, 05:33:32 PM »
0
Yeah, I’ve programmed the decoder with BEMF turned off.  I’ll let you know how it goes...

Steveruger45

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 803
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +162
Re: Loksound Decoder without motor...
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2018, 06:11:09 PM »
0
I think you should be able to install the loksound without motor ok if you connect a 100 ohm 1/4 or 1/2 watt resistor across the unused motor Orange and gray  wires. which is what I did for a couple of sound cars I made. Then put your lokpilot in with the motor and then consist them.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2018, 06:55:48 PM by Steveruger45 »
Steve
Atascocita, Texas

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 21851
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +2528
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Loksound Decoder without motor...
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2018, 07:44:29 PM »
+1
I think you should be able to install the loksound without motor ok if you connect a 100 ohm 1/4 or 1/2 watt resistor across the unused motor Orange and gray  wires. which is what I did for a couple of sound cars I made. Then put your lokpilot in with the motor and then consist them.

Did you check how hot that resistor gets?  I would expect it to get quite high (especially if the train is ran at medium to high speed)., Yes, you can tweak the Vmax setting for the motor (to reduce the average voltage to the motor), but I do not trust any software-based settings. I've seen decoders "blow their brains" too many times.  Maybe I'm overly cautious, but that is how I am.
--- Peteski de Snarkski

-"Look at me, I'm satirical!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm anal retentive!!!"
-"Look at me, I have the most posts evahhhh!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm snarky!!!!"
-"Look at me, I have OCD!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm a curmudgeon!!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm not negative, just blunt and honest!!!"

Steveruger45

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 803
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +162
Re: Loksound Decoder without motor...
« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2018, 07:57:56 PM »
0
Hi Pete
That resistor does get pretty warm in my sound cars so do keep it away from the model shell. 
I made my sound cars following the instructions supplied by Steamline backshops from whom I bought all the parts needed and yes, do tweet Vmax a bit.
I have  run these sound cars a lot and decoders, in my case soundtraxx tsunami 750 and econami 100's are fine.
Steve
Atascocita, Texas

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 21851
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +2528
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Loksound Decoder without motor...
« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2018, 08:50:35 PM »
0
Hi Pete
That resistor does get pretty warm in my sound cars so do keep it away from the model shell. 
I made my sound cars following the instructions supplied by Steamline backshops from whom I bought all the parts needed and yes, do tweet Vmax a bit.
I have  run these sound cars a lot and decoders, in my case soundtraxx tsunami 750 and econami 100's are fine.

Thanks. As I suspected. Personally I would not want to take a chance using a resistor as a motor load in a non-powered car.  Just being (possibly unreasonably) cautious.
--- Peteski de Snarkski

-"Look at me, I'm satirical!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm anal retentive!!!"
-"Look at me, I have the most posts evahhhh!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm snarky!!!!"
-"Look at me, I have OCD!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm a curmudgeon!!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm not negative, just blunt and honest!!!"

tehachapifan

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1937
  • Respect: +348
Re: Loksound Decoder without motor...
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2018, 03:50:21 PM »
0
Sure wouldn't mind a sound-only decoder from ESU if the price was right. I mean one that has loco sounds so it can work in situations where installing a sound decoder in the loco itself is (currently) impossible (such as the LL/Walthers SW1200). I'm aware of the MRC "sounder" and have 3 installed in cabooses already (thankfully, SP often had a caboose attached to the loco on local jobs). They sound pretty good but would sure like having access to ESU's vast sound catalog to download into it. Doesn't really need any other features except maybe a light output or two for markers, rear lights, etc.

« Last Edit: January 06, 2018, 03:53:30 PM by tehachapifan »

Steveruger45

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 803
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +162
Re: Loksound Decoder without motor...
« Reply #10 on: January 06, 2018, 07:07:22 PM »
0
I also made a sound car with a digitrax sfx006 sound only decoder.  It was my first sound car and initially I thought it was great.  However, now I have a bunch of esu sound locos and soundtraxx sound cars I feel the sound quality of the sfx006 is somewhat lacking and not up to esu standards even with a 14x26mm 8ohm speaker. 
Steve
Atascocita, Texas