Author Topic: Black Hawk & Ironwood - Hon30 Mini Southwest Layout  (Read 9056 times)

timwatson

• Crew
  • Respect: +238
    • N Scale Rail
Re: Black Hawk & Ironwood - Hon30 Mini Southwest Layout
« Reply #105 on: August 19, 2023, 09:46:17 PM »
+5

It’s not pretty YET but it’s running! Lots of adjustments needed.

I had forgotten to use insulated joiners since I’ve never used this track before. For some reason I thought it had smarts. But no, it doesn’t. Big thanks for @Chris333 for helping me understand where the gaps needed to be.

On ward and upward.
Tim Watson
My pics: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nscalerail/sets/

Technology, new ideas and model railroading.

garethashenden

• Crew
  • Respect: +1209
« Reply #106 on: August 19, 2023, 09:58:14 PM »
Thanks for the tip! I’ve used Peco code 55 and 80 turnouts in N and code 70 in HOn3 and haven’t had a problem yet, but I’ve never used their HOn30/OO9 line. I’ll definitely check out the Peco documentation. I always use insulated joiners when electrofrogs go frog-to-frog which they all do in my plan.

And to address the Fast Tracks comment again, there’s also cost. For 5 turnouts (one of which is a wye, so that would be two templates), the templates and supplies would vastly out-cost 5 commercial turnouts. Even if I chose to only do straight turnouts (no wye), I’d be paying quite a bit more and still have to find hours of hobby time to build them.

EDIT: Sorry @timwatson for hijacking your thread! Now back to you awesome build that inspired me to do the same!

At the risk of dragging this on even further, there is a distinction worth making. The suggestion was for Fast Tracks templates, not fixtures. The fixtures are expensive, but the templates are a free download from their website, you then print them out. I'm sure the Peco track will work fine, but making track with templates is something to have in the back of ones mind.

Dave V

• Crew
  • Foothills Farm Studios -- Dave's Model Railroading
  • Respect: +8451