Author Topic: New Atlas S2s  (Read 2950 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

OldEastRR

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2673
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +324
Re: New Atlas S2s
« Reply #30 on: August 14, 2017, 09:11:13 PM »
0
Don't know what run the NH s-2 I have is but it runs smoothly and continuously around my layout. Ever since I bought it. It had problems at first because I hadn't cleaned the track for a while, so I did that, and I ran it on alcohol-soaked paper towel a little but now no stalls on switches or crossings. Maybe run yours on the alcohol wheel scrub track and see if that helps. It's quite cute puttering around the layout sounding like a washing machine. I hope to have a PA with sound someday to join in the noise making. Wondering about getting a sound-equipped FA, hmmmmm. Don't think you can get a sound unit into an RS-3, tho. The NH was nutso for Alcos.

jdcolombo

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1889
  • Respect: +638
Re: New Atlas S2s
« Reply #31 on: August 14, 2017, 09:50:59 PM »
+1
Don't think you can get a sound unit into an RS-3, tho. The NH was nutso for Alcos.

Yes, you can get sound in an RS3.  I've done it.  See this thread:

https://www.therailwire.net/forum/index.php?topic=31953.0

As for the FA, I've never tried putting sound in one of those, but I suspect it is possible with some significant frame milling.  There's plenty of room, and since the frame is just one solid hunk of metal, you probably wouldn't notice the weight loss from milling.

John C.

« Last Edit: August 14, 2017, 09:58:08 PM by jdcolombo »

up1950s

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 9055
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +898
Re: New Atlas S2s
« Reply #32 on: September 16, 2017, 01:29:26 PM »
+2
@up1950s


Which is why I see NO reason to buy anything if you don't have a layout ...... :trollface:...hehe

In my mind there are made up images of views of parts of a layout created by me to fit whatever setting I want at the time . The mind can be the source of feelings that are very believable , so much so that it can cause morning wood . Maybe that I don't have a layout to regularly gawk at and hug , my mental visions come with an overload of endorphins . Does that make The Railwire a porn site to me ?
« Last Edit: September 16, 2017, 02:42:52 PM by up1950s »

central.vermont

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2535
  • Gender: Male
  • Jon
  • Respect: +112
Re: New Atlas S2s
« Reply #33 on: September 16, 2017, 02:05:40 PM »
+3
To much info Richie!! :scared:

Nato

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2125
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +76
Re: New Atlas S2s
« Reply #34 on: September 17, 2017, 01:50:14 PM »
0
                                 :|My two first run UP locomotives had to have the factory coating cleaned off the wheels. Before that on my wireless DC layout they ran very poorly. After wheel cleaning they operate very nicely and with DC you get the limited startup sounds. On a DCC layout they run very nicely and all the features are available using an NCE system. "Ta - bucket- ta- bucket - ta- bucket of bolts", I love the sound of that VO 1000 in the video.                         Nate Goodman (Nato).   :|               

OldEastRR

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2673
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +324
Re: New Atlas S2s
« Reply #35 on: September 18, 2017, 02:52:25 AM »
0
As for the FA, I've never tried putting sound in one of those, but I suspect it is possible with some significant frame milling.  There's plenty of room, and since the frame is just one solid hunk of metal, you probably wouldn't notice the weight loss from milling.

John C.

Since this, John HAS put sound into an FA for me. So now I have two noisy washing machines sitting or running around my layout.