Author Topic: More etching / the smallest rivet I can etch?  (Read 2232 times)

craigolio1

• Crew
  • Respect: +1636
More etching / the smallest rivet I can etch?
« on: May 08, 2017, 10:11:16 AM »
+1
Hey all. I've got some parts for the Royal Hudson done but before I commit to finishing more parts, and making multiple versions of tender sides, etc. I want to be sure I'm on the right track as far as what will successfully etch.

The smallest rivets are .75"  (.005") and spaced 1.5" apart on the model. I was hoping to use .012" or .010" brass (or the closest to that in mm that they have) . PPD's website states to multiply the thickness by 1.2 to calculate the smallest hole we can etch.

Does this apply to half etching as well?

Will a rivet that small just disappear and should I increase the size? I'd rather not due to the close spacing.

Would I be better off with a thinner material to start?

This is my first time etching. Thanks for your interest and assistance.

Craig

« Last Edit: May 08, 2017, 10:41:41 AM by craigolio1 »

bbussey

• Crew
  • Respect: +4229
    • www.bbussey.net
Re: More etching / the smallest rivet I can etch?
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2017, 01:53:54 PM »
+1
Depends on the thickness of your material.  I generally have the diameter of the rivets the same as the thickness of the metal.  That should give you rounded rivet heads.

Also, go with .20mm on the brass thickness, which is roughly .008" thick.  That's thin enough for delicate relief but still sturdy enough (at .004" half etch) to handle.  Then make your rivet heads .008" in diameter.  They will etch down in the process and will have a smaller diameter when finished.  I would not go much smaller than that because you won't see them in N.  Keep in mind that paint and decals are a factor as well.
Bryan Busséy
NHRHTA #2246
NSE #1117
www.bbussey.net

craigolio1

• Crew
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2017, 03:56:41 PM »
+1
Thanks for the reply Bryan.