Author Topic: Painting in High Temperatures  (Read 1358 times)

Caveman

• Crew
  • Respect: +5
Painting in High Temperatures
« on: February 20, 2017, 11:48:08 AM »
I was reading a thread about painting on humid days (don't so it) and thought I'd start a new thread since this is a slightly different topic and I haven't seen it covered.

Fortunately, where I used to live and will be returning to soon (in the desert near Palm Springs, California, United States) we often have single-digit humidity. I really love the low humidity! Unfortunately, along with the low humidity comes higher temperatures. During the summer, the temperature can get up into the low- to mid-120s °F (50 °C) range.

I'm new to airbrushing and was wondering what temperatures are best for painting and at what temperatures I should not paint at all. Does anyone have any experience with this or suggestions?

Is there a lower limit to painting temperatures? I don't really expect problems with lower temperatures in the winter. Our winters are so cold that sometimes I think about wearing socks with my sandals, shorts, and t-shirts.  :D

— Chuck

peteski

• Crew
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +4614
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: Painting in High Temperatures
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2017, 04:45:17 PM »
I wish I had your "problem"!  :)  Not only is low humidity good for airbrushing, it is also great for resin-casting (as moisture creates those dreaded bubbles in the resin).