Author Topic: KATO switch machine  (Read 940 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

trainforfun

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1682
  • Respect: +45
KATO switch machine
« on: June 27, 2016, 05:09:52 PM »
0
Hi
I use KATO turnouts in my yard ladder using DS64 ( Digitrax ) to route to the proper final tracks . It was flawless until week end when one turnout refuse to operate .
Looks like a burned solenoid in that turnout .
Anybody knows if it's possible to remove and change that part ?
It's not listed in the available part list at KATO so ....
Thanks ,
Louis



nscale1964

  • Posts: 5
  • Respect: +5
Re: KATO switch machine
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2016, 06:24:20 PM »
+1
I contacted Kato USA and found out only way to replace the switch machine isto replace the whole turn out. sorry  to say

RBrodzinsky

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 811
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +234
Re: KATO switch machine
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2016, 06:52:14 PM »
0
A couple of things to try before replacing:
   1. Does the switch activate if you move the wires to a different output on the DS64? (make sure the problem isn't there)
   2. Do the points move when you manually move the side switch? (Make sure there is no debris or physical problem)

In my experience, the coil is the last thing to go. Check for other causes first.
Rick Brodzinsky
Chief Engineer - JACALAR Railroad
Silicon Valley FreeMo-N

trainforfun

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1682
  • Respect: +45
Re: KATO switch machine
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2016, 07:10:54 AM »
0
I contacted Kato USA and found out only way to replace the switch machine isto replace the whole turn out. sorry  to say

Thanks , their internet Q/A site is down for a couple of weeks they say , I did not want to call them for that , thanks for the answer .
As usual it's the worst place of all my turnout to replace ...
Thanks ,
Louis



trainforfun

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1682
  • Respect: +45
Re: KATO switch machine
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2016, 07:12:54 AM »
0
A couple of things to try before replacing:
   1. Does the switch activate if you move the wires to a different output on the DS64? (make sure the problem isn't there)
   2. Do the points move when you manually move the side switch? (Make sure there is no debris or physical problem)

In my experience, the coil is the last thing to go. Check for other causes first.

Good idea , I allready checked the free motion of the moving part and everything is fine there .
Left to do is trying to operate it unconnected to the DS64 , lastly the Ds64 will be checked . Will give a feedback on this .
Thanks
Thanks ,
Louis



trainforfun

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1682
  • Respect: +45
Re: KATO switch machine
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2016, 12:47:31 PM »
0
Looks like 2 dead spot of the 4 outlet on the DS64 will continu in the DCC forum .
Thanks ,
Louis