Author Topic: 24 Gauge wire  (Read 778 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Cajonpassfan

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3720
  • Respect: +777
24 Gauge wire
« on: April 09, 2016, 12:02:08 AM »
0
Help! Got a deal on some solid 24 Ga. copper wire, a bit lighter than what I've used before, to use for wiring Tortoises' power supply leads. The longest lead is about 6'. I assume the 24 Ga. wire can handle the continuous stall current. (Using a 1 amp, 12 V power supply for 23 Tortoises). Should I worry about the wire size?
Knowledgeable comments appreciated!
Otto K.

eja

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 924
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +70
Re: 24 Gauge wire
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2016, 12:17:59 AM »
0

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 21832
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +2525
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: 24 Gauge wire
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2016, 12:24:05 AM »
0
What eja said.

Is that 6' (24' if you count both conductors) run going to carry the stall current of all the machines at once?  In any case, you can calculate the voltage drop and power dissipated by the wire to see if it is too light to handle the load.  I think you'll be fine.
--- Peteski de Snarkski

-"Look at me, I'm satirical!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm anal retentive!!!"
-"Look at me, I have the most posts evahhhh!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm snarky!!!!"
-"Look at me, I have OCD!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm a curmudgeon!!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm not negative, just blunt and honest!!!"

Cajonpassfan

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3720
  • Respect: +777
Re: 24 Gauge wire
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2016, 01:26:05 AM »
0
6x2=24?  :D
No, the 24 gauge wire only runs from the control board to the Tortoise. One switch machine at a time except for crossovers, where there are two Tortoises controlled by one set of wires. I'm pretty sure I'm good.
Otto K.

C855B

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 8195
  • Respect: +1137
Re: 24 Gauge wire
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2016, 01:30:08 AM »
0
You're more than good. Tortoises are advertised to be 16mA at stall. That's nuthin'. Relatively speaking, 24 ga. is a fire hose. :D
...mike

http://www.gibboncozadandwestern.com

We don't make mistakes, we have happy accidents. We just don't tell anybody. -Bob Ross

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 21832
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +2525
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: 24 Gauge wire
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2016, 01:34:47 AM »
0
6x2=24?  :D
No, the 24 gauge wire only runs from the control board to the Tortoise. One switch machine at a time except for crossovers, where there are two Tortoises controlled by one set of wires. I'm pretty sure I'm good.
Otto K.

That is correct - since you run 2 conductors between the power supply and device, the wire length is doubled.  for single machines you are fine.

Friend uses a CAT-5 network cable for his Tortoise machines and some of the runs are probably closer to 20 or 30 feet (that is 40 or 60 feet of wire per machine).  I'm pretty sure CAT-5 cables use wire thinner than 24 AWG.
--- Peteski de Snarkski

-"Look at me, I'm satirical!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm anal retentive!!!"
-"Look at me, I have the most posts evahhhh!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm snarky!!!!"
-"Look at me, I have OCD!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm a curmudgeon!!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm not negative, just blunt and honest!!!"

John

  • Administrator
  • Crew
  • *****
  • Posts: 10966
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +596
Re: 24 Gauge wire
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2016, 06:06:53 AM »
0


Friend uses a CAT-5 network cable for his Tortoise machines and some of the runs are probably closer to 20 or 30 feet (that is 40 or 60 feet of wire per machine).  I'm pretty sure CAT-5 cables use wire thinner than 24 AWG.

I use CAT5 for all my tortoise runs, and signal mast cabling from my SE8Cs .. no problem

davefoxx

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 8656
  • Gender: Male
  • "I like trains!"
  • Respect: +2073
Re: 24 Gauge wire
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2016, 07:39:10 AM »
+1
I use CAT5 for all my tortoise runs, and signal mast cabling from my SE8Cs .. no problem

Prove it, John.  A rumor started eight days ago has it that you tore down the layout and moved to Carolina.   :trollface:

DFF

General Counsel to the Laurel Valley Ry.
Member: ACL/SAL Historical Society
A Proud HOer

John

  • Administrator
  • Crew
  • *****
  • Posts: 10966
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +596
Re: 24 Gauge wire
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2016, 07:50:24 AM »
0
Prove it, John.  A rumor started eight days ago has it that you tore down the layout and moved to Carolina.   :trollface:

DFF

It's already rebuilt :)


davefoxx

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 8656
  • Gender: Male
  • "I like trains!"
  • Respect: +2073
Re: 24 Gauge wire
« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2016, 08:01:06 AM »
0
It's already rebuilt :)

And, amazingly, it fit into a space that looks suspiciously just like your old basement.  Good planning, sir.  Impressive.   ;)

General Counsel to the Laurel Valley Ry.
Member: ACL/SAL Historical Society
A Proud HOer

Cajonpassfan

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3720
  • Respect: +777
Re: 24 Gauge wire
« Reply #10 on: April 09, 2016, 11:43:27 AM »
0
Thanks for the feedback everybody, even if I don't understand Peteski's math. I do have high hopes of making some wiring progress this weekend....a rainy weekend he in sunny SoCal 8)
Otto K.

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 21832
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +2525
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: 24 Gauge wire
« Reply #11 on: April 09, 2016, 11:56:33 AM »
0
Thanks for the feedback everybody, even if I don't understand Peteski's math. I do have high hopes of making some wiring progress this weekend....a rainy weekend he in sunny SoCal 8)
Otto K.

It is sunny in Northeast Mass. this morning, but the temp. is only in the 40s..  :)

Maybe I'm not understanding you correctly.  If you have 2 electric devices (like a power supply and a switch machine)  6' feet apart, and you need to connect them together in a way that they will work, you need to use a pair of 6' wires. You need to think of the wire as a loop between the devices. That is a total 12' of wire length between those 2 devices. This is important when trying to seriously calculate the total resistance of the wire, or the voltage drop, or power dissipated.  But with the info you provided, and with the collective experience of the people who replied, there is no need to do any calculations - you should be all set.
--- Peteski de Snarkski

-"Look at me, I'm satirical!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm anal retentive!!!"
-"Look at me, I have the most posts evahhhh!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm snarky!!!!"
-"Look at me, I have OCD!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm a curmudgeon!!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm not negative, just blunt and honest!!!"

Cajonpassfan

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3720
  • Respect: +777
Re: 24 Gauge wire
« Reply #12 on: April 09, 2016, 12:04:26 PM »
0
Pete, I get the 12, didn't get the 24. But as you said, it's really moot...
Thanks for your help. Time to get off the iPad and onto (or under) the layout :P
Otto

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 21832
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +2525
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: 24 Gauge wire
« Reply #13 on: April 09, 2016, 12:56:52 PM »
0
Pete, I get the 12, didn't get the 24. But as you said, it's really moot...
Thanks for your help. Time to get off the iPad and onto (or under) the layout :P
Otto

That is because ... it would be me!  The fuzzy Polish Reverse Notation math.   :oops:   24 was a wrong answer.   Sorry! I don't know why I did that, and why I didn't see that mistake after it was pointed out few times.  :facepalm:
--- Peteski de Snarkski

-"Look at me, I'm satirical!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm anal retentive!!!"
-"Look at me, I have the most posts evahhhh!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm snarky!!!!"
-"Look at me, I have OCD!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm a curmudgeon!!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm not negative, just blunt and honest!!!"

Cajonpassfan

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 3720
  • Respect: +777
Re: 24 Gauge wire
« Reply #14 on: April 09, 2016, 03:12:00 PM »
+1
Lol Peteski, mystery solved, but I'm not gonna touch your ethnic-based explanation with a ten foot Pole :)
Otto