Author Topic: DCC basics?  (Read 2077 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Joetrain59

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1383
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +44
Re: DCC basics?
« Reply #15 on: March 30, 2016, 11:00:55 PM »
0
Opened the box, all pieces accounted for. I've always had a throttle mounted to side of layout. Does it get uncomfortable to hold NCE controller all the time?
 Thanks,
 Joe D

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 21112
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +1927
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: DCC basics?
« Reply #16 on: March 30, 2016, 11:26:47 PM »
0
Opened the box, all pieces accounted for. I've always had a throttle mounted to side of layout. Does it get uncomfortable to hold NCE controller all the time?
 Thanks,
 Joe D

It is a fairly large throttle but I don't find it uncomfortable to hold. I don't have very big hands either.  You could probably come up with some sort of bracket to hold the throttle on the side of the layout.  But then I think that it might be a bit awkward to use the speed control thumb-wheel.
--- Peteski de Snarkski

-"Look at me, I'm satirical!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm anal retentive!!!"
-"Look at me, I have the most posts evahhhh!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm snarky!!!!"
-"Look at me, I have OCD!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm a curmudgeon!!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm puzzled!!!!

Joetrain59

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1383
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +44
Re: DCC basics?
« Reply #17 on: April 02, 2016, 01:18:54 AM »
0
Just hooked up the Power Cab, and running K-4. So far, so good. But it's getting late, and I still have household chores to do. (GF is away this weekend)
 How do I change out that banshee whistle???  Later today I should have time to delve into manual, and them maybe Bmann site.
 Oh crap, just realized any new locos I order, are going to be more $$$.
 Thanks,
 Joe D

Mike C

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 635
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +83
Re: DCC basics?
« Reply #18 on: April 02, 2016, 05:54:10 PM »
0
CV 115 is the whistle .   And yep once you go with sound it gets expensive upgrading the other locos  :o

Joetrain59

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1383
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +44
Re: DCC basics?
« Reply #19 on: April 02, 2016, 09:50:40 PM »
0
Mike C., I don't think I'll plan on upgrading any current locos I have to sound. Just any new ones I might order, I'll have to go with the sound option if available.
 Meanwhile GF and I are house hunting, with her full support of space for a layout. Got to love a honey like that. :)
 Thanks for the CV115 tip.
 Joe D

reinhardtjh

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1866
  • Respect: +129
Re: DCC basics?
« Reply #20 on: April 02, 2016, 09:59:34 PM »
0
Just hooked up the Power Cab, and running K-4. So far, so good. But it's getting late, and I still have household chores to do. (GF is away this weekend)
 How do I change out that banshee whistle???  Later today I should have time to delve into manual, and them maybe Bmann site.
 Oh crap, just realized any new locos I order, are going to be more $$$.
 Thanks,
 Joe D

As Mike says CV115 is the whistle.  It defaults to the Banshee (CV115=0), but you can change it to a Baldwin (CV115=2) which is the closest of the 3 whistles available - no PRR 3-chime is on the decoder.  See https://www.therailwire.net/forum/index.php?topic=36788.msg438886#msg438886

The manual for the HO version is here --> http://www.soundtraxx.com/factory/OEM_pages/bachmann/ho_k4_4-6-2.pdf

That should be close enough.
John H. Reinhardt
PRRT&HS #8909
C&O HS #11530
N-Trak #7566

Joetrain59

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1383
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +44
Re: DCC basics?
« Reply #21 on: April 02, 2016, 11:16:29 PM »
0
Thanks John. I downloaded that pdf to printout. Should be very helpful. I will try in a little while.
 Joe D

John

  • Administrator
  • Crew
  • *****
  • Posts: 10839
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +514
Re: DCC basics?
« Reply #22 on: April 08, 2016, 06:58:45 PM »
0

Joetrain59

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1383
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +44
Re: DCC basics?
« Reply #23 on: April 09, 2016, 06:22:19 PM »
0
Thanks John. Saved the pdf to desktop. But it might be time to start packing up. See thread "Home" in crew lounge.
 Joe D

Joetrain59

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1383
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +44
Re: DCC basics?
« Reply #24 on: April 10, 2016, 02:54:22 AM »
0
Looking at TCS/BLW sites, many "drop in" decoders available for older, non DCC locos. Better motor control seems to be key feature. Is there really a noticeable improvement? Speed matching is likely, too?
 Joe D

peteski

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 21112
  • Gender: Male
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +1927
    • Coming (not so) soon...
Re: DCC basics?
« Reply #25 on: April 10, 2016, 08:44:39 PM »
0
Looking at TCS/BLW sites, many "drop in" decoders available for older, non DCC locos. Better motor control seems to be key feature. Is there really a noticeable improvement? Speed matching is likely, too?
 Joe D

Better motor control than what? Using DC?  If you have a really good DC throttle with pulse (like TAT IV or few others) then you can get excellent motor control in DC.  But with most DCC decoders you have so many more tunable parameters at your disposal.

The ability to control many locos (and their motors) on the same track with no need to worry about blocks is the most important feature. That is HUGE!  The control of motor's speed is also highly customizable and is available in all but some of the most basic decoders (like the non-sound Bachmann). All the "brand name" decoders allow you to customize (to various degrees) the motor drive and to do speed matching. In most cases speed matching can be done using just 3 values (3 CVs), but if you really want to go all the way, you can use the full 28 speed matching table.
--- Peteski de Snarkski

-"Look at me, I'm satirical!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm anal retentive!!!"
-"Look at me, I have the most posts evahhhh!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm snarky!!!!"
-"Look at me, I have OCD!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm a curmudgeon!!!!"
-"Look at me, I'm puzzled!!!!

Joetrain59

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1383
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +44
Re: DCC basics?
« Reply #26 on: April 10, 2016, 09:37:30 PM »
0
I do like not having to install blocks. Yes, HUGE:) My current DC throttle is a MRC Tech4, 2600??.
 One step at a time for me.
 Thanks,
   Joe D

Trainmaster247

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Respect: +9
Re: DCC basics?
« Reply #27 on: April 11, 2016, 10:48:24 AM »
0
Welcome to DCC the nce powercab was my first also and from running in some other peoples layouts found it to be the most user friendly. I also run a dinosaur age controller the roco powermouse.

Joetrain59

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1383
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +44
Re: DCC basics?
« Reply #28 on: April 19, 2016, 11:03:19 PM »
0
Hi,
  I might be jumping the gun a bit, but I bought a TCS 1278CN decoder from BLW. Think I want to put it in my Atlas CNJ RS1.
 Any tips from someone who's done this install?
Thanks,
 Joe D

  Let's go Islanders!

robert3985

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 2189
  • Respect: +443
Re: DCC basics?
« Reply #29 on: April 20, 2016, 05:25:41 AM »
0
My current DC throttle is a....uh...is a.....

Come to think of it, I don't have a DC throttle any longer except my old Ntrak one in a box under the layout somewhere....I wonder if it still works??  :D

Since my Digitrax system will run DC locos (as opposed to NCE) I don't need a DC throttle.

Cheerio!
Bob Gilmore