Author Topic: Has anyone done brickwork on Shapeways?  (Read 791 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

wcfn100

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 7814
  • Respect: +544
    • Chicago Great Western Modeler
Has anyone done brickwork on Shapeways?
« on: January 25, 2016, 04:19:51 PM »
0
I had bought a Silhouette Cutter many years ago and drew out my Tower 'A' for my Waterloo module.  And while it did a much better job than I could have done by hand, it did have some problems.



I'm thinking about testing 3D printing and was curious if anyone has tried this (obviously I don't remember if someone did).  I know that mortar lines would be almost .75" but is that any worse than other methods?



Jason

Lemosteam

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 4009
  • Gender: Male
  • PRR, The Standard Railroad of my World
  • Respect: +1229
    • Designer at Keystone Details
Re: Has anyone done brickwork on Shapeways?
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2016, 06:56:06 PM »
0
I am experimenting with cut stone, but if your mortar joint depth is 0.1mm wide and 0.1mm deep the model will pass the printing requirements for FUD and FXD.

Smooth brickwork should be easy and I would think that the surface irregularity would add to the realism.

tom mann

  • Administrator
  • Crew
  • *****
  • Posts: 10669
  • Representing The Railwire on The Railwire
  • Respect: +721
    • http://www.chicagoswitching.com
Re: Has anyone done brickwork on Shapeways?
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2016, 08:30:34 PM »
0
Can you use the cutter with Monster's brick sheets?

wcfn100

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 7814
  • Respect: +544
    • Chicago Great Western Modeler
Re: Has anyone done brickwork on Shapeways?
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2016, 09:32:04 PM »
0
Can you use the cutter with Monster's brick sheets?

I meant to look at that and maybe I still will.  Shapeways is just such an easier avenue for me to go down.  Once I see the price, I may have second thoughts.  I also have a passenger depot to do and need to think ahead about that one since it will be 10x the size of this little tower.

Jason

Chris333

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 13562
  • Respect: +2806
Re: Has anyone done brickwork on Shapeways?
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2016, 10:02:08 PM »
0
You could brick up a small cube to test it in Shapeways.

jimmo

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 902
  • Gender: Male
  • Representing Willmodels
  • Respect: +6
    • Willmodels
Re: Has anyone done brickwork on Shapeways?
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2016, 08:05:28 PM »
0
I had bought a Silhouette Cutter many years ago and drew out my Tower 'A' for my Waterloo module.  And while it did a much better job than I could have done by hand, it did have some problems.



I'm thinking about testing 3D printing and was curious if anyone has tried this (obviously I don't remember if someone did).  I know that mortar lines would be almost .75" but is that any worse than other methods?

Are you considering doing a building in brick or making sheets of brick?



Jason
James R. Will

wcfn100

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 7814
  • Respect: +544
    • Chicago Great Western Modeler
Re: Has anyone done brickwork on Shapeways?
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2016, 08:47:03 PM »
0

Are you considering doing a building in brick or making sheets of brick?



I'd try and do the building as one piece or 4 wall pieces.


Jason

jimmo

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 902
  • Gender: Male
  • Representing Willmodels
  • Respect: +6
    • Willmodels
Re: Has anyone done brickwork on Shapeways?
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2016, 09:43:49 PM »
0
I think the idea Chris333 had of making a cube as a Shapeways experiment is a good place to start.
James R. Will