Author Topic: Kershaw Tie Crane  (Read 2884 times)

C855B

• Crew
  • Respect: +2288
Re: Kershaw Tie Crane
« Reply #15 on: February 04, 2015, 10:27:17 PM »
"Too difficult for modelers to accurately drill tiny holes in the models."

Huh? Then what am I doing with this box of reground #92 drills on my bench? No, that's not everybody's cup of tea, but... still. I've been drilling tiny holes since the 1960's. Hasn't everybody?  :P

Bob's mention of tin/silver solder working for SS has me intrigued. I just instinctively thought that SS could only be worked with inert gas welders. I have a spool of Sn/Ag/Pb on the bench... might be worth messing with.

peteski

• Crew
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +4619
    • Coming (not so) soon...
« Reply #16 on: February 04, 2015, 10:33:48 PM »

Huh? Then what am I doing with this box of reground #92 drills on my bench? No, that's not everybody's cup of tea, but... still. I've been drilling tiny holes since the 1960's. Hasn't everybody?  :P

Bob's mention of tin/silver solder working for SS has me intrigued. I just instinctively thought that SS could only be worked with inert gas welders. I have a spool of Sn/Ag/Pb on the bench... might be worth messing with.

You really need strong acidic flux which will remove the layer of oxide which makes the steel stainless.  At that point any solder will stick.  It is messy and in my experience the solder does not wet the steel as readily as brass (so I don't get the wicking action which results in very clean joints in brass).

As for the mirrors, yes, the only option i have is to glue them to the surface.
. . . 42 . . .

C855B

• Crew
  • Respect: +2288
« Reply #17 on: February 04, 2015, 10:42:22 PM »
You really need strong acidic flux which will remove the layer of oxide which makes the steel stainless.  At that point any solder will stick. ...