Author Topic: Atlas Code 55 Flex New look  (Read 3232 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

arbomambo

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 1189
  • Respect: +407
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex New look
« Reply #45 on: December 21, 2014, 09:40:04 AM »
0
Scott was basing his comments on the original thread photo, not the ' joke ' photo with the 44 tonner.
"STILL Thrilled to be in N scale!"

Bruce M. Arbo
CATT- Coastal Alabama T-TRAK
NTRAK Board of Directors
https://nationalt-traklayout.com/

[/ur

nkalanaga

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 6518
  • Respect: +273
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex New look
« Reply #46 on: December 21, 2014, 01:43:50 PM »
0
OK, that makes more sense.  Sometimes posts can be confusing, when one isn't sure which post another person is responding to...
N Kalanaga
Be well

Rossford Yard

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 881
  • Respect: +40
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex New look
« Reply #47 on: December 23, 2014, 09:45:56 AM »
0
Well, I see the differences, but in a practical matter, I don't see the differences.  At least, as one whose last layout had a variety of C80 (Atlas, Peco) and C55 track (Peco, both wood and concrete tie, as well as some ME concrete tie) even those variations were pretty well covered (to my satisfaction) with weathering and ballast.  I am not sure every piece of track on the proto looks exactly alike anyway.

If it had to be, with molding damaged, and Atlas has a tough decision to make - keep it looking the same or make it a bit sturdier with new tooling.  If that was the choice, I am glad they went with sturdier.  It is still N scale, and sturdier does play a part, even if I may end up laying some replacement track (or add a few sidings) and they may even look a bit more stout than my mainline tracks)

I Know there were lots complained about how easy the turnouts came apart, and many felt they could be better.  Does anyone with the new turnouts confirm that they were re-tooled and look the same, or are they the old tooling?

BTW, ran the layout for my grandkids the other day, and was pleasantly surprised, after perhaps a month of non running, that with one quick wipe of the track with a track eraser, electrical contact on my "old C55" it ran like a dream.  Seems like the NS they used was pretty high quality.

pogopod

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Respect: 0
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex New look
« Reply #48 on: December 24, 2014, 08:42:38 PM »
0
The sled with the reindeer finally delivered some to Minnesota. LHS said he sold a case by the piece in one day. Got mine home and feel it will work with the old stuff and only the most anal serious rivet counters should notice when it is ballasted.

soo

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 637
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +103
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex New look
« Reply #49 on: December 26, 2014, 01:42:49 PM »
0
I just need some,,, after paint and ballast, I think no one will notice anything wrong or flawed. If they do I will just escort them to the backyard and promptly shoot them between the eyes!!

adios Wyatt

nkalanaga

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 6518
  • Respect: +273
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex New look
« Reply #50 on: December 27, 2014, 01:12:08 AM »
0
Soo:  Don't shoot them, put them to work.  Tell them that if they don't like it, they can replace it, then let them hand lay new track, while you keep them in line with photo evidence.  After a few feet maybe they'll learn to keep their mouths shut about someone else's railroad.
N Kalanaga
Be well

Rossford Yard

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 881
  • Respect: +40
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex New look
« Reply #51 on: December 27, 2014, 08:38:48 AM »
0
I just need some,,, after paint and ballast, I think no one will notice anything wrong or flawed. If they do I will just escort them to the backyard and promptly shoot them between the eyes!!

adios Wyatt

I saw that movie...."He'll shoot your eye out, kid!"  Well, Fuuuuuuuuudddddddddgggggggggeeeeee.

Happy Holidays and a model railroad filled new year to all!

Jeff AKA St0rm

  • Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 494
  • Gender: Male
  • Respect: +12
Re: Atlas Code 55 Flex New look
« Reply #52 on: December 28, 2014, 07:23:52 PM »
0
I have been running trains on the new track for 3 days now and all is fine but one thing. I have noticed that my older SD40-2 (from early 2000) have a slightly larger flange then the current and they click on the spike heads but only in 5 5" spots in 100'. So with a little sanding of the spike heads there and all will be fixed. The Loser moving rail doesn't cause any problems. If i come across anything else i will update.

Jeff