Author Topic: Photo-etched details for handlaid turnouts  (Read 13254 times)

ednadolski

• Crew
  • Respect: +1665
Photo-etched details for handlaid turnouts
« on: December 13, 2014, 10:46:33 PM »
Here is a fret of photoetched parts that I have received as an early Christmas present.   This is my first attempt at a fret of photo-etched details for building a hand-laid N-scale #12 turnout, designed for code 55 rail and featuring the various tie plates, slide plates, and gauge plates that are found on a typical prototype turnout.  This is meant to fit over a turnout template, so that all the tieplates are in place and do not have to be positioned individually by hand.  The tieplates are etched in a way that is intended to serve as a guide for laying the rail.  There are also a number of additional detailing parts such as the frog bolts, rail braces, and the point reinforcing bars.

The main idea is to first lay out the PCB and wood ties on top of the template, then construct the turnout by placing each rail in position and then soldering to the PCB ties.  Once all the rails and details are in place, the pieces of joining fret can be cut away leaving the 'skeleton' portion of the turnout (rail + tieplates + PCB ties) as a single assembly.  This can then be lifted up for painting, then replaced back over the wood ties to complete the turnout.  Pliobond can be used to attach to the wood ties, or if one prefers, the tieplates also have 0.010" square holes that will accept photo-etched spikes.  Overall this should be similar to constructing a handlaid turnout using the standard solder+PCB ties method, along with the changes to accommodate the extra detail parts.