Author Topic: Walthers n-scale 0-8-0  (Read 1327 times)

nickelplate759

• Crew
  • Respect: +992
Walthers n-scale 0-8-0
« on: July 20, 2014, 05:56:54 PM »
My next DCC challenge is a Walthers 0-8-0.
As you might guess from the frequency of my postings I'm still new to this.

I put a TCS Z2 (with 8-pin plug) in my Walthers n-scale 0-8-0.  It runs on DC just fine (with the decoder) and the lights work too, but nothing happens on DCC.

DecoderPro was able to recognize the decoder and program an address, and when I use the "Identify" button it detects the loco with the correct (new) address.  However, when I try and run it, it doesn't respond to any commands (lights, forward, reverse, etc...).

Just for grins I tried address 03 (although the Identify response at 206 suggests that this would be a waste of time).  No Joy there either.

What should I try next?
George

George
NKPH&TS #3628

I'm sorry Dave, I'm afraid I can't do that.

nickelplate759

• Crew
Re: Walthers n-scale 0-8-0
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2014, 11:47:35 PM »
Resolved!   I used Decoder Pro to read  all the "sheets", and looked through them looking for wierdness.
On the "Basic" sheet I discovered that I had somehow set the address to 206 (decimal) while leaving the decoder in 2-digit addressing mode.  Oops!   Changed to four digit addressing mode and all is well.

Still learning!

George
George
NKPH&TS #3628

djconway

• Crew
  • Respect: +64
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2014, 09:58:45 AM »
Been there done that --- why do we paint bull's eyes on our feet?
Good to see you resolved the issue.

nickelplate759

• Crew
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2014, 12:13:44 AM »