Author Topic: A Beginner Starting to Brainstorm  (Read 4158 times)

lordscarlet

• Respect: 0
A Beginner Starting to Brainstorm
« on: January 13, 2014, 11:50:31 PM »
I am a beginner looking to model N scale based on Washington, DC in the modern era. Because I am a beginner, I'm a bit scatter brained about what to do and my thoughts are evolving. I tried my hand a few times at a layout, but I think before I get there I need a more clear picture. Instead what I have done, if anyone is bored and would like to help, is throw together some vague information about my thoughts.

The space I have available allows for an L shape that is 9.5' on the long side and about 62" on the short side. I could probably get away with 30-36" depth on each leg of the "L", but I don't want to do that just because I can. If a narrow shelf layout works, I would certainly look at doing that. The scrap wood on the floor marks out a 3' depth. The area is adjacent to where we watch TV in the basement, and on the other side of the wall with the mirror is my utility room and workbench.

My thoughts are currently focused in the stretch of DC north of Union Station that continues to the rail yard and into Maryland. I am primarily interested in passenger rail, but would definitely be interested in adding interest with some CSX traffic. I would love to include the soon to operate (fingers crossed) streetcar that will run along H St NE and hopefully throughout the city over the coming decades.

I have put together some very basic information on the routes, and marked some landmarks I am interested in on a google map: https://mapsengine.google.com/map/edit?mid=zFBmXsEMJ5H4.kxHKMiaFiiac

A quick summary:

Union Station: I would love to model Union Station, but a more practical approach is probably to have it at the edge of my model and only model the back end with the passenger platforms.

NoMa Summer Screen: A field across from the train tracks that shows outdoor movies in the summer