Author Topic: A Newbie's First Layout, InterUrban Switching Services  (Read 6432 times)

Tremelle

• Respect: 0
A Newbie's First Layout, InterUrban Switching Services
« on: November 28, 2013, 10:12:58 PM »
I am new to model railroading but not new to modelling in general.  I felt it was time I took on a fun hobby and project that I could involve my son that included spending time at home instead of on the rocks with a scale rc crawler or at a rc track.  I have chosen to do my model railroading in N scale since space comes at a premium in my home.  I live in an old 1930s and 40s era railroad building in Downtown Dallas.  After browsing this site and the internet I have decided a shelf layout would be ideal for my layout and location.  I also came to the realization that it would have to be a switching layout since I can not afford to give up enough space.  So the following is what I have come up with.

The layout will positioned along a wall, behind my couch, that has two ledges that are 8.5" deep.  So the shelf will hang 5.5" off the edge of the ledge and go around The front of a pillar.  Here are some pictures of where the layout will be located.  Yes, it will be lower than ideal but I intend to sit on a stool with caster wheels to lower myself to put it at a higher level for viewing.  When not in use, the couch will be pushed back up to it and mostly out of sight.  The fist pic has a 14" deep piece of board to show the depth and the overhang.