Author Topic: continuous running ?  (Read 2256 times)

Flatrat

• Crew
  • Respect: 0
continuous running ?
« on: August 05, 2013, 09:54:32 PM »
When I know I'm having visitors over in a day or two I tend to tweak the rails and wheels etc. to hopefully ensure that my company will observe smooth running model trains. On occasion, when things are running just perfect and visitors were going to arrive tomorrow I have just gone to bed and let the trains run around the track for hours with good results. I used to work in the high end audio-video business and many of my customers both with tube or transistor amplifiers never turned their equipment off and just let the electronics 'idle' until they were ready to sit down an listen to their favorite LPs, movies, etc. and they claimed to enjoy better performance that way.

Do any other modelers let their trains run continually or for long periods of time?

Kisatchie

• Crew
  • Respect: +101
Re: continuous running ?
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2013, 10:08:48 PM »
I've never had an operational layout, but if I did - no, I wouldn't let the trains run for long periods.

Hmm... on the other
hand, Kiz's computer is
on about 14 hours a day...

Two scientists create a teleportation ray, and they try it out on a cricket. They put the cricket on one of the two teleportation pads in the room, and they turn the ray on.
The cricket jumps across the room onto the other pad.
"It works! It works!"

Bob Horn

• Crew
  • Respect: +1
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2013, 10:14:24 PM »
I was running in a FVM ES44 after a decoder install which was louder than normal. I ran it for 11 hours at 60 mph. No problems but the truck noise did not go away. Bob.

Flatrat

• Crew
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2013, 10:17:13 PM »
My layout is basically two big loops with turnouts on both, but if I want to, I can let trains just run around the loops which is what I wanted. I was just curious if anyone let their trains run for long periods of time on their layouts.