Author Topic: TCS decoders "forgetting"  (Read 2651 times)

Ian MacMillan

• Global Moderator
  • Crew
  • Learn to use the god damn search feature!
  • Respect: +157
    • Conrail's Amoskeag Northern Division
TCS decoders "forgetting"
« on: April 25, 2013, 06:53:36 PM »
I have been using TCS decoders for many years now and have only recently run into this issue. I had 6 locomotives that I installed decoders in back in November. Ran them on the layout during a show the first week of November, and then they were packed away until I used them back on the first week of April for a show.

Every single one would not respond, and would only light up the headlight. Tried issuing new address commands and resetting to 03 and NADA.

I was using JMRI (but was re-programing others fine Digitrax/NCE/Lenz) but will have to try direct through the throttle now that I have got it back from Digitrax. But, has anyone else experienced TCS forgetting everything, and then not responding to anything?
I WANNA SEE THE BOAT MOVIE!

Yes... I'm in N... Also HO and 1:1

C855B

• Crew
  • Respect: +2288
Re: TCS decoders "forgetting"
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2013, 07:25:46 PM »
Odd. No problems here. I have TCS in most of my train show fleet, and some stuff could be 18 months between runs.

Possibility of a static hit? Really really really close ( :scared: ) lightning strike?

peteski

• Crew
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +4613
    • Coming (not so) soon...
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2013, 01:32:09 AM »
Ian:

Did you try running the loco using a DC power pack?  Or in a pinch, take a 9V battery and touch it to the loco's wheels.  Assuming that you didn't disable the Analog Mode Operation in CV29, the loco should run on DC.  If it runs, then there is a pretty good chance that all the electronic components are ok.  That is because the analog operation uses all the same components (including the microcontroller) as DCC operation would for running the motor.