Author Topic: BLW Sharks  (Read 1196 times)

johnh35

• Crew
  • Respect: 0
BLW Sharks
« on: March 13, 2013, 08:46:57 AM »
I recently won an auction on Ebay for  V-Line Sharknose A and B shells that were supposed to have Kato RS-2 mechanisms (the mechanism for the B unit was pictured, the A unit mechanism was in the shell). When they arrived, the mechanism under the shell was (surprise!) an older Atlas Kato RS-3 instead. I know this was the typical mechanism installed in these by people, but is it really the correct bolster span? It is a really nice shell painted for the PRR and the wheelbase of the RS-3 looks right under it, but data I can find suggests a shorter bolster span.

Carolina Northern

• Crew
  • Respect: +12
Re: BLW Sharks
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2013, 09:21:06 AM »
So you're the one who beat me on that auction.
I'm not an expert on the various wheelbases, but I've been happy with LifeLike FA2 chassis on my sharks.
The V-line body takes a little cutting on the chassis, but sits and looks good to the eye. I've put them under the V-line and the ER Models bodies. The headlight can be a little tricky, but overall, a good match.

rogergperkins

• Crew
  • Modeling the B&O in central IL in autumn of 1940's
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2013, 09:22:22 AM »
You have recourse on e-bay to return items misrepresented by the seller for a full refund!  Do it, please.

johnh35

• Crew
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2013, 02:59:03 PM »
You have recourse on e-bay to return items misrepresented by the seller for a full refund!  Do it, please.